Banh-Mi Style Vietnamese Baguette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
The sauce for the bread is out of this world. I plan on using it as a dip for potstickers and possibly as a marinade. It did call for quite a bit of sugar however so I plan on reducing it to 3-4 tablespoons next time. It also makes quite a lot. I ended up using approximately half of the sauce for 6 sandwiches (so this recipe should be able to cover 12 sandwiches). I did have a few changes to the sandwich in general which I believe made it yummilicous, first I toasted the bread and then added a bit of mayo (1 tsp) to each of the sandwiches. I also added a bit of sirloin which had been marinated in teriyaki sauce and then cooked. These things together with her fantastic sauce make this sandwich outstanding. Thank you so much for the recipe. I know I will be making the sauce for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goffstown, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
One of the best sandwiches I've had! Didn't have portabella's so I used crimini's and sauted on stove. Don't forget to add the minced garlic to the sauce. The sauce is amazing. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colombo, Western, Sri Lanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I have been eating Vietnamese sandwiches for a quarter of a century and this is by far the best recipe I have ever found for them. I have made them with bot portabello mushrooms and BBQ pork steaks sliced into thin strips. My sisters and I get together to make them every couple months and like tamales we make them in dozens for our family and friends to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe was sooooooooooooooo good. Thank you so much. I had left over cucumbers and some left over carrot/radish that I dumped into the left over sauce for a nice veggie salad tomorrow. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cashiers, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I love vietnamese food, so when I saw this recipe I had to give it a try. It is a keeper! The only change that I would make is the bread. The baguette was too thin to load all of the ingredients properly. I tried it again with a french bread loaf and it was truly amazing. The flavor is very unique and a must try if you like vietnamese food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyCrocker
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good sandwich sauce! Blanching the carrots is also a great direction that I didn't find on other recipes. It allows the carrots to soak up the vinegar much more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is beyond 5 stars! Thank you so much for the awesome recipe. I added some thinly sliced red onion to the carrot/daikon after they were blanched and let the onion, carrot, daikon, and cucumber marinate overnight in the lime juice and vinegar mixture. My husband and I were just about to dance around the house after eating this ;0) We also have some leftover sauce that we'll use to dip spring rolls tomorrow night. Thanks again for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Thanks so much for this recipe! I loved it- the sandwich sauce is perfect! I didn't have rice vinegar and substituted rice wine which wasn't quite right. Still very very good! A great vegetarian lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States