Banh-Mi Style Vietnamese Baguette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Very good. I didnt have any sesame oil so i didnt even bother with it. I toasted my bread with butter in the oven on broil 1min per side. Added the sauce onto the bread, added some mayo to the bread. I layered everything on it but the mushroom, didnt like it. I used pulled pork as my meat and it was oh soooo gooood!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanavaorry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Wonderful! Only change was that I used chicken instead of mushrooms (don't like). Terrific meal, so flavorful. Lots of chopping and prep work, but well worth it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Oh man this is a tasy sandwich!!! I have never had an actual banh-mi, so I have nothing to compare it to whatsoever, but I do know that this was effing good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I made this for my brother, his wife and their teenage daughter. All were impressed...this is arguably the best sandwich I have ever made. I did vary from the recipe in that I did not make individual sandwiches...I made one big sandwich on a full 'pain,' and used 3 portobellos to feed four. But man...what a fresh and refreshing and wonderful flavor and texture...ten stars! Add a glass of cheap red and eat out of doors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were very good but after trying them with the mushrooms first, I made them next with thinly sliced grilled chicken. We all preferred them with the chicken. These are nice since you can prep everything ahead of time other than the basil and cilantro. The sandwich sauce was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Thanks so much for this recipe! I loved it- the sandwich sauce is perfect! I didn't have rice vinegar and substituted rice wine which wasn't quite right. Still very very good! A great vegetarian lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is beyond 5 stars! Thank you so much for the awesome recipe. I added some thinly sliced red onion to the carrot/daikon after they were blanched and let the onion, carrot, daikon, and cucumber marinate overnight in the lime juice and vinegar mixture. My husband and I were just about to dance around the house after eating this ;0) We also have some leftover sauce that we'll use to dip spring rolls tomorrow night. Thanks again for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very good sandwich sauce! Blanching the carrots is also a great direction that I didn't find on other recipes. It allows the carrots to soak up the vinegar much more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I love vietnamese food, so when I saw this recipe I had to give it a try. It is a keeper! The only change that I would make is the bread. The baguette was too thin to load all of the ingredients properly. I tried it again with a french bread loaf and it was truly amazing. The flavor is very unique and a must try if you like vietnamese food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyCrocker

Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States