Bangin' Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Ok, I'll admit it - as the first reviewer of this recipe I was skeptical because of its large amount of bananas and small amount of sugar. I also admit I was swayed to try it anyway because of the submitter's identifying himself as "professional." I figured he must know what he's doing! But so do I, and I knew I'd be a tough sell because my favorite banana bread on the planet is one I've made for over 40 years. Well, the verdict is in - I'm sold - dad_can_cook makes a darn good banana bread! His description is right on. I found it incredibly moist, chock full of banana flavor, light, not nearly as dense as most, and not overly sweet. I had some leftover toasted pecans, so sprinkled some of those over the top rather than the macadamias. Other than that, I followed the recipe as directed and would do so again. I did find, however, that the baking time was a little off. I removed mine from the oven at just 58 minutes and wished I would have set it for 55. Not a dealbreaker though, just watch the baking time carefully. While this won't take the place of my favorite banana bread, it is a great contender. Be sure to have about five, good-sized bananas on hand for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was very pleased with the way that this Banana Bread turned out! The only changes that I made to the recipe were to cut the caloric and fat content. I substituted Splenda for Sugar, 1/4 cup of Apple Sauce and ¼ cup of butter instead of the full 1/2 cup of butter, and unsalted Cashews in place of the Macadamia Nuts. I found that the loaf was perfectly cooked after 55 minutes. Thanks again for a great recipe! Finally, a Banana Bread recipe that was not excessively sweet or dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Other than using cold eggs, defrosted (still chilly) bananas, and toasted pecans, I followed the recipe and made banana bread muffins. Yum! Normally I jazz up banana bread recipes with cinnamon or nutmeg but decided to give it a shot to see if it packed the banana punch others have commented on... yes indeed! I'll make this again with room temp ingredients and see how it changes things... for now, I'll enjoy the treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is GREAT! I did add a 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg to the batter but other than that I made no changes. The macadamia nuts were a wonderful contrast to the banana flavor. My kids and I demolished a whole loaf for breakfast this morning! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
It's time to throw away all of my other banana bread recipes, I've now found the perfect one! Its moist, dense in flavor but not in texture, it's simply put, delicious. Strong in banana flavor, a real winner. I follwed the recipe exactly and will make again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Delicious! I made this the other day and it was wonderful! Perfect texture, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Very good bread! I made 8 loaves of it today (left out the nuts) and it is sooo moist and tasted great out of the oven so I know it will be even better tomorrow =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This banana bed is truly bangin', will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I really like this recipe. I HAVE NEVER MADE ANY TYPE OF BREAD BEFORE. This was so easy to bake. Although it really did not matter if the eggs went 2 at a time VS 1 at a time...IT TASTES GREAT. EVEN ADDED 1 EXTRA BANANA IN ONE BATCH. I have over the coarse of this weekend made 10 loafs of this Bangin Banana Bread. GOOD JOB...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lara
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was the best recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States