Bangin' Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Ok, I'll admit it - as the first reviewer of this recipe I was skeptical because of its large amount of bananas and small amount of sugar. I also admit I was swayed to try it anyway because of the submitter's identifying himself as "professional." I figured he must know what he's doing! But so do I, and I knew I'd be a tough sell because my favorite banana bread on the planet is one I've made for over 40 years. Well, the verdict is in - I'm sold - dad_can_cook makes a darn good banana bread! His description is right on. I found it incredibly moist, chock full of banana flavor, light, not nearly as dense as most, and not overly sweet. I had some leftover toasted pecans, so sprinkled some of those over the top rather than the macadamias. Other than that, I followed the recipe as directed and would do so again. I did find, however, that the baking time was a little off. I removed mine from the oven at just 58 minutes and wished I would have set it for 55. Not a dealbreaker though, just watch the baking time carefully. While this won't take the place of my favorite banana bread, it is a great contender. Be sure to have about five, good-sized bananas on hand for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
OMGosh! I am so picky when it comes to banana bread and have searched high and low with so many different recipes to find one that I like. Well let me tell you, the search is over! This bread is awesome! It tastes so much like bananas and its so moist and flavorful, its amazing! I will admit I did use half whole wheat flour for just a tad more fiber, and a tad bit more mashed bananas. SOOOOOOOOOO good! This is my go to recipe from now on. I will not be using any other!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is GREAT! I did add a 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg to the batter but other than that I made no changes. The macadamia nuts were a wonderful contrast to the banana flavor. My kids and I demolished a whole loaf for breakfast this morning! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was very pleased with the way that this Banana Bread turned out! The only changes that I made to the recipe were to cut the caloric and fat content. I substituted Splenda for Sugar, 1/4 cup of Apple Sauce and ¼ cup of butter instead of the full 1/2 cup of butter, and unsalted Cashews in place of the Macadamia Nuts. I found that the loaf was perfectly cooked after 55 minutes. Thanks again for a great recipe! Finally, a Banana Bread recipe that was not excessively sweet or dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe so much that I joined allrecipes just to review it! I followed the directions for the most part except I added 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 cup chopped walnuts (instead of macadamia) and 1 cup chocolate chips. It came out moist and full of banana flavor Another tip: about 10 minutes before removing from oven, brush the top of the loaf with a mix of 1 tsp brown sugar dissolved in 3 tsp of water. It adds a delicious crunch! *I cooked for a total of 50 minutes = perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I didn't use the nuts since I didn't have any, and substituted chocolate chips instead. Baked it in a rectangular baking dish. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
It's time to throw away all of my other banana bread recipes, I've now found the perfect one! Its moist, dense in flavor but not in texture, it's simply put, delicious. Strong in banana flavor, a real winner. I follwed the recipe exactly and will make again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
delicious!! just make sure to check the bread after about 50 minutes. 60 minutes was a little too long in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
holy ... this is even better than my mothers and grandmother's.... i will never make another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Dad sure CAN cook! Some of the best banana bread I've had the pleasure of trying. Thanks, Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States