Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I used spicy italian sausage and canned gravy. Sausage was good, gravy was good, mashed potatoes was good. The recipe itself is pretty simple to make and is pretty good meal, but it's time consuming making your own mash potatoes. Now something you want to make on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this for an 'Around-the-World' party and everyone loved it. I made one or two changes: Rather than the more 'traditional' beef link sausage, I used ground sage pork sausage. Ground sausage is easier to work with and goes a lot further when making this for a party. I also used maragrine rather than butter in the recipe, but put a couple dollops of real butter on top of the mashed potatoes before popping it in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Harding

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This is obviously a comfort food like Mac & Cheese. Good gravy makes it. If your gravy isn't good, the dish will suffer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe tasted exactly like what I had in Ireland last week. I used Bratwurst and doubled the gravy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
We ate the whole pan. I loved it. It's a little labor (and pan) intensive for such a simple dish, but totally worth it. It's a wonderful comfort food for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
awesome recipe, it's back to basics here! It's the ultimate English comfort food and my children and I love comfort food. I like cooking COMFORT FOOD recipes from every culture and the bangers and mash is a perfect iconic plate that satisfies english middle class families. the potatoes get the flavor of the gravy and the sausages when fried in the pan get "firm" but get nice and soft when baked under all those dreamy potaotes. This is something we make almost every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by retrocookinmomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Followed the advice of another reviewer and added mushrooms to the gravy. Served with steamed veggies and fresh rolls to soak up the gravy. Everyone enjoyed it...will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Ah, bangers and mash! This recipe is pretty good, though there are certain specifications and alterations I would make. First, 'pork sausages' are a very bland description of a banger. You have to get irish sausages or bangers, not just plain pork sausages. Also, the gravy suggestion for this recipe is pretty weak...try using a fresh mushroom and onion gravy, it's much better. Other than that, its good stuff. ;]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grizzly bobby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
make sure to not use pork sausage with this recipe, but double the gravy called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gillespie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States