Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Another recipe that my picky husband loved. I add basil, rosemary, oregano and mushrooms to the onions as they cook, that simple change makes it DARN good! My personal secret ingredient is (don't tell anybody now) a pinch of cinammon. It adds a je ne c'est quoi that is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Ummm, maybe I did something wrong, but I'm pretty sure I followed the recipe very carefully. In the end, I wondered why I had taken such a long way around making some sausage and mashed taters with gravy. The mashers did not brown in the oven, though I did wait patiently. Finally, I pulled the dish out and realized that I really didn't have much to offer my family for dinner. So, I threw together some biscuits, baked 'em up, and served the sausage stuff over open biscuits. In the end, my family liked it "for something different", which is short for, "please don't make this again any time soon". They don't have to worry; I won't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was great. I didnt have sausage so just used ground beef & browned with onions, montreal steak seasoning and garlic powder. Added gravy as per directions & used the 'make ahead mashed potatoes' from this website. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
My clan really enjoyed this.(and my husbands boss loved the leftovers for lunch) We thought that next time we would add two packages of gravy. We also added mushrooms because we love mushrooms, and when I served the dish, I sprinkled shredded Cheddar Cheese on top! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Sand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Swansea, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made this recipe for St. Patty's day dinner, I used Johnsonville's O'Irish garlic sausage...all I can say is it was out of this world, served with baby brussel sprouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I substituted ground beef for the sausage. It turned out OK. There were just too many potatoes, and the they tasted pretty bland! I added garlic salt and topped it with american cheese...this helped some. I may try this recipe again, but I will two packs of gravy for flavor...and only 4 or 5 potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffani Peoples
Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I really liked this recipe and my DH that thinks everything I make is "just ok" actually asked me to make it again! The only change that I made was to use spicy sausage, it really added alot of flavor and a bit of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
My husband and I LOVE this recipe. I use pork sausage and I prefer French's dry brown gravy. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
THANK YOU FOR THIS FANTASTIC RECIPE! MY HUSBAND WAS DANCING IN HIS CHAIR! HE HAD THIS IN UNIVERSAL FLORIDA IN THE PUB, LOVED IT. I LOOKED ALL OVER FOR RECIPES AND USED THIS ONE AND IT WAS EASY, FAST AND DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ronkonkoma, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Yummy and easy!!! The ultimate comfort food. We didn't even get to have any leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBKINCAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States