Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Made for my husband and he loved it. Added carrots with the onions. Came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
UPDATE: My bf and I were at Trader Joe's this weekend. He saw Irish sausages (i.e. "bangers") in the refrigerated section. I guess if I ever attempt this again, I'll know where to find the authentic stuff! This is definitely not one my favorite Allrecipes dishes... I love bangers and mash (it's what I usually order at the Irish Pub near me - I prefer it over ANY other Irish dish), so I thought I'd give this a try. The potatoes were DRY (needed more liquid) and the banger sausages were difficult to find (my local grocer does not carry them). I ended up using large beef sausages (only ones available), but they just weren't the same. Irish food is known to be somewhat bland, so I wasn't expecting a taste explosion, just a simple stick-to-your ribs meal. I like the concept and might try again, but would make several modifications including preparing with garlic mashed potatoes (my own recipe or instant ones) and topping with a dusting of Parmesan cheese for extra flavor. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Wonderful! I don't keep the dry gravy mixes around, so I made a basic thyme and onion gravy that was wonderful with the Irish bangers and good old mashed potatoes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Holy comfort food, Batman! This was so great and hearty and comforting after a long hard day. I only made a couple of changes - I seasoned the gravy with salt, pepper, and sage because the stuff from the packet tasted kind of boring without any seasonings, and I had to use beef brown-and-serve breakfast links, due to my inability to find proper bangers in Wisconsin. I also topped the whole thing with a medley of shredded cheeses - cheddar, parmesean, and gruyere, using up whatever I had in the house. I agree with the other reviews, next time I'll double the gravy since it didn't really make very much. Other than that, no complaints - a fantastic dinner, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Very good and very filling. My husband loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I used Polish sausage which did give it more zing. It was okay but it didn't taste any different than if I had served everything separately. I'll have to play with it some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
It was delicious and wonderful...really satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
easy, tasty "comfort food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I have been looking for a good bangers and mash recipe for a while. We made this for christmas eve and we loved it so much it will become a family favorite!! We added an extra packet of gravy and it was sooo good! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Very good recipe simliar to one my great-aunt used to make. (This one, however, is much easier thanks to packaged gravy mix!) I would suggest that those who find this bland or unimpressive try a different brand gravy mix & sausages. These really are best with traditional Irish Bangers, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Honda, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States