Bangers and Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was really good. My boyfriend is half English and he's never seen bangers and mash made this way but he loved it. What brand sausages are you supposed to use? We had no idea and bought Farmer's John brand and they were definitely not the right ones but delicious nonetheless. Next time I will put mushrooms in the gravy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I only made the Bangers from this recipe along with some Irish Champ. Simple and tasty! My suggestion is to use good quality beef sausage. I also just baked the sausage right on top of the potatoes with the gravy poured over top of the whole dish. The layering suggestion seemed a little strange to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this for st. patricks day and it was awsome. I used Hillshire farms smoked sausage and it was phenominal. I used the suggestion that Bunnygirl had posted with the oregano, rosemary, and basil in the gravy and it was PERFECT! And everyone that ate it couldn't stop complimenting it! Great recepie.- Eric
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is a good quick and basic recipe. I found it super salty with the gravy packet. I think next time I will try to find a low sodium one. But overall it was a good comfort food meal with little hands-on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Outstanding! Made the recipe as written and it came out great. This will go into our regular weekend breakfast rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eliray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Super yum and super easy, even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortstuff2u_21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Very good as a casserole. Although I have had traditional British bangers and mash and the sausage and gravy had a lot more spice. I don't like canned or package gravy and always make my own when ever possible. So when I make it again, I will def. get proper bangers sausage and spice up my gravy to make it a more traditional flavour . But all and all, this is definitely a great knock off on the traditional bangers and mash only in casserole style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
It was AMAZING!!! I can't wait to make it again. It is also just as great left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Master

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Justice, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I am sorry but I wasn't taken with this recipe. I made it as written with the exception of having slightly more onion and used 3 large russet potatoes. I very much agree with the last reviewer who felt that the better the gravy, the better the dish. I am sure if it were made with homemade gravy or a top quality premade type it would improve the dish for my own taste. I used a package of McCormick brown gravy mix and really didn't care for the taste of the sauce. I also think also that the quality of sausage, even between beef sausages, will of course make a difference. I used very plain unspiced beef sausage and wonder if something with a bit of heat wouldn't be an improvement. But, Amanda Fair, I do appreciate your taking the time to share your grandmother's recipe. I may try this again with the above changes. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I used spicy italian sausage and canned gravy. Sausage was good, gravy was good, mashed potatoes was good. The recipe itself is pretty simple to make and is pretty good meal, but it's time consuming making your own mash potatoes. Now something you want to make on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States