Bangan ka Bhurta (Indian Eggplant) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I thought this was an eggplant curry and it really is not a curry. It still is a relatively good way to eat eggplant, but I think I would get sick of the taste quickly if I ate it repeatedly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I had never heard of this dish, but loving spicy food and eggplant I tried it. OMG! It is an awesome dish. I took the advice from others and added cumin, chile powder and garam marsala. Amazing. . . Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
added the gram marsala, still thought it was too bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was trying to match the stuff you get in the restaurants, and while this isn't an exact match it is pretty yummy. I skipped the microwave, roasted the eggplant about 20 minutes in the oven, added 1/2 tsp of marsala, and roasted garlic in the oven and added it with the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sir_Angus
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
A bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I've never eaten this before, so I have nothing to compare it to. We had white rice and lentils along with sausage as the sides. Great combo~ We liked the eggplant roasted on top of the open flame as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very good. Love the love carb, high flavor factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
this was good but this should be called something else not bangan ka bharta..it just doesnt taste the same..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Took Archana's advice (from 1.16.08) and ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS!!! Served it to two friends who are not the biggest fans of Indian Food and they loved it and asked for more!!! Served this with a baked chicken breast covered with saag paneer and steamed quinoa. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJorge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was excellent!!! As well as others I cooked mine over my gas burner and added some chopped garlic to the onions as they were cooking. Also added some extra s&p and a little bit of cumin as well. I tried to get this as "mushy as possible! I served mine with some homemade naan and it was soooo good. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States