Bangalore Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Made this for monthly dinner party. My theme was India. Never cooked Indian before was kinda scared. My friends were a bit afraid at first? We all loved it! In roaster even pepper stayed crunchy! Only change from recipe was (accidental cuz apparently I cant read) I used a lot of curry. My cumin ran out and I grabbed the wrong bottle. Still turned out perfect! Everyone wants this again! Thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is a very wonderful, flavorful recipe! As with any recipe that calls for spices, the fresher your spices the more flavor! This is especially important with this recipe as it utilizes many wonderful spices. If your spices are stale they will have very little flavor. The hens came out perfectly juicy with meat falling off the bone. I took the lid of the last 15 minutes and the skin was nice and crispy. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This has a lot of flavor. Very nice. I cut the honey in half and added more olive oil. After squeezing the juice from the lemons, I cut them in quarters, tossed them in the paste along with a small sweet red onion and stuffed the cavity of both hens. I'm not a zucchini, squash or turnip fam, so I used small white potatoes, yellow onion, mushrooms, and red peppers tossed with seasoning. I added the vegetables half way through the cooking process, as another reviewer suggested. I also substituted a 28oz can of Rotel with chilils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Collector

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This recipe tasted pretty good and was easy to make ... however it was no where near as good as the other rave reviews suggested. I don't think I'll be making it again, but if I do I would probably omit the honey and paprika. The honey added a nice flavor but it wound up being too sweet and the paprika really didn't add anything that the other spices hadn't already given to the recipe. Actual cooking time was also wound up being much less than recommended. I might also consider adding the vegetables half way through the cooking process because they wound up being rather overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this for Easter dinner - very flavorful and delicious. Makes a TON of vegetables as written - we had leftovers for days, but they were very good so it was fine. I used turnips and cut them in 1/4 inch slices, since they're only 2" in diameter to begin with - I wonder if the cook meant parsnips? I served this with couscous, but it didn't soak up the juice like I'd want. I think it would be better paired with something bland - mashed potatoes? I also served with steamed spinach - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was a great recipe! I made a few minor changes (I am not a fan of cooked peppers, which I think lose all their crunch and flavour in this sort of dish. Also I added some parsnips, which are kind of sweet, some small purple onions instead of the onions called for, and used two whole lemons, squeezed, then sliced about 6 squeezed slices into the dish). Anyway, it tasted great, and we are putting on our A-list of dishes to serve even for the most demanding company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
great recipe, fun to make really impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weekendchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States