Bandito Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This recipe is very similar to my dad's very popular bean recipe that has been a family favorite for years. What I really liked about this recipe is the unique combination of beans--it makes for an attractive medley of colors and flavor. The peppers are great addition too. (I added a yellow pepper for extra color and flavor as well.) To kick it up another notch, I also added some garlic, dash of ground mustard and used spicy italian sausage instead of pork sausage. (I was worried the italian spice would compete with the BBQ flavors, but it blended perfectly.) Overall, it was great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Loved it.. used italian turkey sausage instead of pork and halved the fennel seed.. used 1/4 cup of splenda and 2 tablespoons of molasses to subsitute for the brown sugar...Less fat and less calories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This recipe is great! Even finicky Hubby loved it. I even left out the brown sugar and it was still yummy. The next day I took the leftovers and added a cup of v8 juice, a cup of water and a can of stewed tomatoes and turned it into a nice bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I got this recipe via the "Dinner Spinner" iPhone app and it was a true winner! I made it as written, only changing the brown sugar content to only 1/4 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend (had to make them friendly for diabetic loved ones). Fantastic! I was wary of the wax beans and green beans in them, but no - don't leave these out, they really are great! I'll be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
My family loved this dish, and I have plenty of left overs! The only changes I made was reducing the amount of brown sugar to 1/2 cup; however, it was still too much sugar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Oh my goodness. This recipe is FABULOUS!!!! I took it to a church function and everyone raved about it, including my husband. The only thing that I did differently was I cooked it for 12 hours on low and added about a 1/2 cup of water to thin out the sauce a little at the end of the 12 hours. I cooked it this long only because our church dinner was right after morning church so there wasn't enough time to cook it in the morning. I will definitely use it again, no changes at all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
These are fantastic! I have made them several times to take to parties. i prepared them just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
These beans turned out great for a party and a lot of people asked me for the recipe. I used only half of the brown sugar and it was plenty sweet. I also used spicy chili beans, and substituted half of the sausage with hot sausage. I didn't have any fennel, so had to leave that out. They turned out great. (The picture of the recipe above does not do this dish justice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
My first time making baked beans, I chose this recipe because it seemed foolproof and used a slow cooker. I followed it pretty much as written, except for halving the sausage (though I wished later that I hadn't because it would have been meatier), and I substituted a can of navy beans for the limas because it seemed a bit weird to have all those green vegetably beans in there. And I cooked it for about 10 hours instead of 5 hours -- a girl's gotta work all day, after all! Turned out fine though and I got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a great recipe. I actually made it for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I substituted Pinto Beans for the Lima beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DixieDoesPSP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States