Bandito Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
Yummy, and so simple. Took them to a picnic and several people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This recipe is very similar to my dad's very popular bean recipe that has been a family favorite for years. What I really liked about this recipe is the unique combination of beans--it makes for an attractive medley of colors and flavor. The peppers are great addition too. (I added a yellow pepper for extra color and flavor as well.) To kick it up another notch, I also added some garlic, dash of ground mustard and used spicy italian sausage instead of pork sausage. (I was worried the italian spice would compete with the BBQ flavors, but it blended perfectly.) Overall, it was great and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
yummy, this was a family hit! I added cooked and cut bacon for a little more meat to please my husband. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zenminded1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Loved it.. used italian turkey sausage instead of pork and halved the fennel seed.. used 1/4 cup of splenda and 2 tablespoons of molasses to subsitute for the brown sugar...Less fat and less calories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
A Must Try Recipe...The only thing different I did was omit 1/4 tsp fennel as we are not real fans of fennel...This is very similiar to calico beans,but better....Thank U so much for this recipe..I will make it often.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
These beans are the best baked beans I have ever had. It was just spicy enough, just sweet enough, and I just found out that I like lima beans! (very surprising) It's very easy to make. The only change I would make next time would be to halve the fennel, or not put it in at all. It's just a weird flavor when you accidentally bite one in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
My family loved the combination of beans and the sausage makes all the difference. Husband thought it could be a little less sweet so I'll cut back on the brown sugar next time, but will surely make it again. Also, I left out the fennel and didn't miss it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
Served this dish at my pot luck at work. Everyone loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
My first time making baked beans, I chose this recipe because it seemed foolproof and used a slow cooker. I followed it pretty much as written, except for halving the sausage (though I wished later that I hadn't because it would have been meatier), and I substituted a can of navy beans for the limas because it seemed a bit weird to have all those green vegetably beans in there. And I cooked it for about 10 hours instead of 5 hours -- a girl's gotta work all day, after all! Turned out fine though and I got several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My husband loves these beans! I have never used the fennel seed, but otherwise follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Baked Beans

Make world-class beans worthy of Beantown.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States