Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I loved this...delish! I halved the recipe to begin with, it makes a ton of sauce. The trick is to keep on stirring, no matter what. It will come together. In the past I have made caramel sauce with sugar water and cream. This version is much richer tasting. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I think this recipe needs to be a little more descriptive in the cooking process. The sugar and butter clump up during the browning process which I didn't expect and then while adding the cream it siezes up into lots of hard clumps. While it did finally smooth out in the end, my spoon would get caught up on a clump stuck to the pan and I flipped sauce on my pants and the floor (which immediately got hard) Now the end result tasted good but didn't taste any better than sauce made from Brown sugar, butter and cream combined and heated. (which was much easier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe was really good . I topped mine with crushed pecans .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolle Hathaway Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a first timer making caramel sauce from "scratch". I was a bit sceptical about the process but it tasted and turned out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This is soo yummy! It takes some time, and maybe a little practice, but I think it's worth it. I've found that it is fun to vary the deepness of the brown color in order to achieve different shades of caramel flavor. As far as grainyness, make sure you stir a lot and for a long time after adding the creme. This is what dissolves the sugar crystals. Also, it won't really thickedn until it cools. I've never used it to heat bananas, although I guess I should! I've made crepes, used the sauce as fondue, and served it over ice cream and with a spoon. It's honestly limitless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This sauce is sooooo yummy. I didn't make it with the bananas but over the White Chocolate Blondies from this site. Just wonderful. I agree with the other posts regarding the stirring. It will separate but just keep stirring - it will come back together and brown up nicely. The whole process took maybe 10 minutes max. Worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
truly and amazing sauce! I must extend a huge thank you to Reviewed on Jun. 21, 2006 by TUNISIANSWIFE for her review. I was getting really worried when the sugar turned hard and crunchy and probably would have stopped and figured I screwed up somewhere. But I put all my faith in Tunisianswife and kept on stirring! I also found mine was a little thin for my liking and left it to simmer for an extra few minutes, around 10 actually. Hope I can keep it warm until it is time to add the bananas without eating it all... Oh this is bad to the bone! :) Lorrie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Delicious and very impressive for guests. Everyone loved it.. I just need to make MORE next time! I have since started making the caramel sauce for different applications too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I used this recipe combined with walnuts to fill crepes and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This was great! I only used the recipe for the caramel sauce (using regular white sugar and half & half) because my daughter wanted a caramel sundae. Personally, I thought that was a waste--this should be eaten straight from a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States