Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I'm not too sure if I like warm bananas or not. Either way, use firm bananas, because they will soften in the caramel sauce. It's a good basic caramel sauce recipe to have on hand. I did add a touch of vanilla, too--it seemed to be screaming for it. Also, there's enough caramel sauce to support many more bananas than called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
OMG. I just made this (at 10:49pm) for myself (no one else is home tonight) so I scaled down the recipe to 1 banana. H_E_A_V_E_N. I had all the stuff at home except super fine sugar so I pulsed regular sugar in the food processor till fine. Thank you so much, Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
To save some time and eliminate some of the stirring, try using brown sugar and sour cream. Just add about 1/3 cup each (for 2 bananas) and stir into the melted butter until bubbly. Absolutely delicious garnished with cashews and drizzled with chocolate sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The caramel sauce is delicious!! I can't wait to make my own version of the iced caramel macchiato with this sauce. This will save me lots of money! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VETTY430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Station, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Whoa!! The favor is amazing and if you take the time that it needs in constant stiring, it is not grainy at all. Not a very thick sauce as I was expecting, but I am sure it will work all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I only made the caramel sauce...but it was FANTASTIC! I served it over bread pudding and we couldn't stop eating it. As the other reviews have noted, be patient. It will do exactly as the reviews say...you just have to stir and wait....and stir and wait...and..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I loved this...delish! I halved the recipe to begin with, it makes a ton of sauce. The trick is to keep on stirring, no matter what. It will come together. In the past I have made caramel sauce with sugar water and cream. This version is much richer tasting. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I think this recipe needs to be a little more descriptive in the cooking process. The sugar and butter clump up during the browning process which I didn't expect and then while adding the cream it siezes up into lots of hard clumps. While it did finally smooth out in the end, my spoon would get caught up on a clump stuck to the pan and I flipped sauce on my pants and the floor (which immediately got hard) Now the end result tasted good but didn't taste any better than sauce made from Brown sugar, butter and cream combined and heated. (which was much easier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe was really good . I topped mine with crushed pecans .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by creole mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a first timer making caramel sauce from "scratch". I was a bit sceptical about the process but it tasted and turned out great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States