Bananas in Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Did not like the recipe at all. Followed directions precisely. The "caramel sauce" did not look like caramel at all. It was a sweet thin white sauce. Recipe says to cook sugar until light brown. It never turned light brown. Unfortunately I tried the recipe for a company dessert. It's the first recipe from AllRecipes that I did not like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Great recipe with so little effort. I used the review suggestion using brown sugar and sour cream. The recipe took about 10 minutes to prepare and that included heating the bananas in the mixture. This will certainly impress your guests and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaBell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Very tasty but the sauce was way to thin. It was the consistency of tomato soup. I would try adding 3/4 - 1 cup and thin as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I used this as a filling for banana shortcake. Absolutely delish. Nice and simple, I've made it a few times with sweetened shredded coconut added. Wow! Think a hybrid of banana cream pie! Super alternative to traditional strawberry shortcake; but I plan to try it with strawberries next time. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Reading all the reviews, I decided to cook the caramel longer. But I think I cook it too long since there's a slight burn taste. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I didn't let the color of the caramel get dark enough. (I was afraid of burning) I added 2 extra bananas and I think I could have thrown 2 more in there. There was a lot of sauce. Not that I am complaining because it was AWESOME! I topped off my bananas with a drizzle of choc syrup and a dab of whipped cream. YUM!! I couldn't stop eatting it. I now feel like I just ate my weight in Caramel Bananas! lol Oh So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
If I could give more than 5 stars i would! I only used the caramel sauce tho. I filled chocolate cupcakes with it and wow, it was a HIT!! DEVINE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewelz35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
SIMPLE and PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theoracleiam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is pretty good. I liked the caramel sauce, but not the addition of the bananas. I guess in general, I don't like the taste of healthy things with unhealthy things. If you're going to do it... go all the way! The sauce is very good though. My mother makes this sauce under french toast- that's a good combo! It definitely took a while to make. I stirred and stirred and stirred. But it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This caramel sauce is delicious. It's a rich sauce, and I found it to be enough for about 10 to 12 bananas, not 4. I plan on making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States