Bananas Foster Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Best bread pudding recipe that I have tried. After the initial 90 minutes baking, I cut the bread pudding into approximately 2" squares, tossed and baked for about 20 minutes (a idea from a cooking class). I also made the banana foster sauce suggested by KRANEY (the first review on the page). Everyone loved it! My son had it for breakfast the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This pudding was absolutely delicious!!! I used bananas that weren't ripe and crushed pecans instead of chopped pecans. Lots of people said it was the best dessert they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Berg
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Delicious!! Definately needs ice cream and a topping (butter, brown sugar, and liquor), otherwise it does taste like mushy banana bread. Would definately make again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Berg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
The directions were very easy to follow, but I agree with another member who said their bananas turned out purple, and that it just ended up tasting like mushy banana bread. It did not look appetizing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Yummy! I used 3 really ripe bananas and 3 ripe bananas. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This is an excellent ice cream topper! As for pudding -- maybe it's because it is not cooked like a typical bread pudding, but in now way would I call this pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Yummy yummy yummy!! This was soo soo good I wish I had hidden the leftovers from my family! I made it on Sunday night for dessert to go with the bananas foster II recipe from this site & a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Both were awesome, but honeslty I think it was overkill to make both as they were both so good that it was hard to enjoy them indivdually. Luckily I had about half a tray left and brought a slice (okay fine a huge chunk!) to work for breakfast the next day. HEAVEN!! By the tiem I got home i wanted another slice but sadly my family had gobbled it up. You MUST try this recipe!! *The only thing I changed was using rum instead of banana liquor as I wanted to keep the cost down and already had rum on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Amazing. Since it was for two people I halved the recipe. I used soymilk instead of cream (vegetarian) and used Cream sherry instead of banana liquor. Perfect. And I am not even a big fan of bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I am a lover of Bread Puddings and this was wonderful...but you have to like the flavor of Banannas! I made it for our Super Bowl/Madis Gras party and it was a HUGE hit! I made a sauce to serve ontop of each serving (b.sugar, butter, bannana liquor, pecans and milk). We also served it warm with a scoop of vanilla iceream. Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I don't usually prefer bananas, but this recipe certainly makes me a fan! I was skeptical of a banana dessert, so I gave it a test run by cutting the recipe down to yield 5 servings. I cut a small loaf of french bread into about 1 inch cubes and used a banana flavored rum. I poured the mixture into a small loaf pan and threw it into the toaster oven. I did also find that I didn't need to keep it in there for more than 60 minutes, but that's probably more because I was baking a smaller portion. I pushed the toast button for the last few minutes to make the top crispier, which I thought complemented the bread pudding texture wonderfully! I followed the other reviewer's suggestion and also made the sauce (I used the recipe from Bananas Foster II submitted by Buttermebread) which was phenomenal drizzled over the pudding and vanilla ice cream! Excellent and definitely a keeper! Will be making the whole recipe and sharing the joy with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States