Bananas Foster Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
This is a five star recipe. I'm giving it four because I made some modifications, so that's a reflection on my changes, not the original recipe. We used to love monkey bread until I discovered gorilla bread. Wow. It's the same as monkey only when you flatten out your biscuit pieces, you place a small piece of cream cheese in it before wrapping it back up into a ball and then rolling them in the cinnamon sugar mixture. To die for! So I added cream cheese to the middle of my biscuits, sealing all the edges well with a really good pinch, then rolled in the cinnamon/sugar. I also used half the sugar syrup mixture in between the two layers I made. (I used Grands and split each one into two pieces, then flattened them into circles.) You really need to add half that in between layers. I also bake my in a bundt pan at 375. I have one that makes everything in it come out looking like a big swirl and it's a pretty presentation. I'd never heard of Bananas Foster monkey bread and I think it's just brilliant! Thank you so much for the recipe and please forgive the modifications. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rutar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Delicious! So much so, in fact, I made it two days in a row! The first time I made half the batch for my family of 3. The second time I made the entire batch but subbed the vanilla for a generous splash of Captain Morgan. Yum! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I enjoyed this receipe....i did make a couple changes however. I omitted the pecans and added raisins in place of. I allowed my butter and brown sugar mixture to reach a soft ball boil before adding it to my loaf pan. I decided to let the sauce sit in the loaf pan for three to five minutes to add flavor to the dough. When it came out.....wow.....deliciouus! The sause was caramelized and so full of flavor. Also made a white glaze for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Should be made in a shallow pan. Loaf pan took too long and was never really done in center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
A tasty way to use up the ripe bananas. Very simple recipe that I will be sure to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this Christmas morning. We all loved it! I didn't put the nuts in although I wanted them, because some of my family don't like nuts. I didn't change anything at all except for leaving out the nuts. It was wonderful! I will be making this many times, thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
We absolutely LOVE this recipe!! I've made it twice now and plan on making it once a month for Sunday brunch. The first time I made it, I messed with it a little bit. I added a chopped apple along with the bananas, I poured some of the sauce in the bottom of the pan and the rest on top and I baked it in a bundt pan. I would NOT recommend pouring any sauce in the bottom of the pan. It got very sticky and I couldn't invert the bread onto a plate. We just ate it out of the pan, it was delicious, but not perfect. The second time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of baking it in a bundt pan. I had no trouble with "boil overs" at all. The bundt pan is plenty big enough to hold the entire recipe. I also want to add that the first time I made the recipe, I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough. The second time I made it, I just tore the biscuits apart using my fingers. This turns out SOOO much better when you use the pizza cutter. Way more uniform pieces and a MUCH better presentation that way. Will definitely be making this again and again!! It's the perfect way to use up any bananas or apples that are on the verge of going bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Delicious! Next time I might add a few more bananas, but great as-is. There were no leftovers at our Easter brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mokie1982

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I love this recipe even though i am young i know good food when i taste it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is a nice twist to twist to monkey bread. Just for something different, I cut the recipe in half, substituted pumpkin spice for the cinnamon, then put into 3 individual ramekin dishes for my kids and baked. The kids thought it was great to have their own individual bowls of monkey bread. Now my kids are small (6), so one ramekin may not be enough for a big kid, but for them, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States