Bananas Foster II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Awesome!!!....and so simple. Be sure to only "warm" the bananas in the sauce, otherwise bananas wil be too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Incredible! I made this for friends and they raved about it! One friend said this was the best dessert she has had in her life! I used rum extract in place of rum. I looked up the substitution on the web and found out 1 Tbsp. Rum = 1 tsp. rum extract plus 2 tsp. water. I used these measurements and it tasted perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I've made this twice now, first time used rum flavoring and 2nd time used Meyer's Dark Rum. I thought it was a little too liquid using 3-1/2 T of rum, but my family loved it just as it was. It served our family of 3 generously. The flavor is rich and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Made this dessert for 36 people and got rave reviews. Instead of using rum, used rum extract (1/8 tsp. with enough water to make 1 tablespoon). Scooped ice cream into 36 plastic tumblers, put them on a cookie sheet and put them back in the freezer early in the day. Served the bananas fosster in a chafing dish and let my guests help themselves. Could not have been easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Good and impressive! I thought you were supposed to light the rum on fire though??? This way the alchol burns off and even the kids can eat this dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was very tasty. I skipped the rum and walnuts and only had light brown sugar. I also combined it with another dessert since some people (like my husband) aren't big on bananas. It's called crunchy ice cream and isn't on this website. You need 4 scoops of vanilla ice cream, honey, cinnamon sugar and about 2 cups of crushed corn flakes. Drizzle honey and sprinkle cinnamon sugar over each scoop. Then cover each scoop with the corn flakes. Place bananas foster around the ice cream and enjoy!.. I know we do!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
I've been using this recipe for about 8 months as a nice dessert after dinner. All of my guests absolutely love this! Great recipe! As an extra I add 5ml of banana liquer, it really brings out the rum and bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
Wow, this could not be easier to make! It is also delicious. I eliminate the walnuts for serveral reasons. First, I do not believe that Banana Foster typically includes walnuts, and secondly we just prefer a smooth texture. I have also made this with brandy as well and then flambe the desert, dramatic! Use dark rum, it adds a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Oh my goodness...this was really good!! Hubby brougt home some Breyer's extra creamy vanilla ice cream after work, so I whipped this up to serve on top. I cut my bananas in half and then split them lengthwise...I'm sure it doesn't matter how you slice them..they will all taste the same. I also used regular brown sugar since I didn't have the dark and it came out great. Will definitleyl make again. Thanks Buttermebread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe! I substituted Kahlua for Rum--it was also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 654) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States