Bananas Foster II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
DELICIOUS!!!! I made some changes: 1. Added a tablespoon of nutmeg 2. Of course I put much more cinnamon than the recipe called for b/c I love cinnammon 3. Instead of using dark brown sugar I used Panela (which is unrefined sugar that you can buy at Latin grocery stores usually in the shape of a cone or brick) 4. I used Malibu Rum b/c I felt a tropical rum would compliment the bananas. Not sure if I would use walnuts again- b/c they kind of get in the way. Meaning, you want to taste the rum, the ingredients, the sweetness of the banana but when walnuts get stuck around your teeth as you chew with their strong flavor, it takes the wonderful experience away. The banana was SO sweet and the rum was not offensive at all (didn't taste like alcohol whatsoever). I will definitely be making this again. I was excited that I didn't have to flambe in this recipe b/c I've never flambeed anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Antigua, Sacatepéquez, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is what Bananas Foster is supposed to be. Now if only I could get Blue Bell ice cream where I live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
this was so easy to make and was gobbled up in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe was a breeze ... and DELICIOUS! Omitted the walnuts, otherwise was perfect. Hubby loved it so much, he practically licked the bowl. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Let me just say that bananas foster is one of my favorite desserts and this recipe is Absolutely divine! I'd give it 10 stars If I could. I prepared just as recipe said, using a Jamaican dark rum and Yum. My husband and I gobbled it up. I will definitely be making this again perhaps using the sauce over some French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
DELICIOUS!!! Sometimes I use Tia Maria! And I add nutmeg and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was amazing.I made it for dessert following some spicy jambalaya, and all my guests asked for seconds. The recipe is easy to follow,I didn't even really measure the ingredients so much as eyeball the amounts and it turned out fine. The only caveat is that you need to serve it with good quality ice cream, without that it probably would have been just above average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
used this as a topping for cheesecake and everyone loved it. too sweet and rich for me personally but i was the only one apparently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizanoel21
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Used imitation rum extract but didnt reduce the portion so the sauce turned out on the bitter/sour side. It actually worked out because I used apple-bananas and drizzled the dish with honey at service. I left out the walnuts and used vanilla bean gelato. Tasted wonderful =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gizelle
Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Really quick and easy! Impressive enough for company too! Followed the recipe to the letter (which is rare for me) and it was a very yummy dessert for my DD and to share over vanilla ice cream last night after dinner. Subbing out pecans would be delicious too. My only change for next time would be to use a dark or spiced rum (which I didn't have this time), as I think the flavor it would impart would bump this up a star for me. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States