Bananas Foster Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe as stated except I was out of rum extract so I used double the amount of pure madagascar vanilla extract. These waffles were so tasty! I will replace my regular waffle recipe with this one. For the pancake syrup used in this, I used the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup recipe (love) from this site. Thanks, Prell2k4 for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Excellent. I'm going to use this as a dessert if I ever have people over again. I followed this recipe exactly, except that I got lazy and time-crunched at the end and used Cool Whip instead of whipping cream. The waffles alone are fantastic, I served some with strawberries and Absolute Best Pancake Syrup for the fools that didn't want Bananas Foster. Thanks, Prell - another hit! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was awesome!!! I only used the sauce part of the recipe as a I had a craving for pancakes, Wow was it ever good. I did do things a little different, I doubled the recipe but I didn't double the pancake syrup. I also omitted the rum extract and added more vanilla. I wasn't too sweet and the taste of bananas was through out the sauce, I'm thinking when we make this again I want to try it with mashed bananas instead. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made the bananas foster topping according to the recipe and used it on top of pancakes. Added a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was better than what you get at IHOP! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This was a huge hit! Made it for Fathers Day and hubby (who is a Bananas Foster fan anyways) LOVED it. As govdivagirl suggested, I also made the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup. I also did not have any rum extract, so used Creme de Banana liquor instead. Hubby was just glad that there was enough syrup left over so he can use it for topping icecream later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Made these for Father's day and loved them. They were easy to make and the kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marcellus, New York, USA
Living In: Harrison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My husband made these for a family breakfast, and they were awesome. I usually don't even like waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mena, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I tried this recipe this morning and it was delicious. One warning though...it is one of those sweet, heavy breakfasts that puts you straight to sleep after. My husband, baby and I were knocked out for 2 hours after eating this. Good thing it is the long weekend. A couple substitutions I made in the syrup: I used blueberry juice instead of rum extract (as I hate the taste of rum), and maple syrup instead of the Mrs. Butterworths, and omitted the nuts. I also skipped on the whipped cream, and used Breyers double churned cookies and cream ice cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maslow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Pure decadence. Great weekend breakfast as tasks can be easily split between helpers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars b/c the sauce is excellent. Will make again and again and will use on ice cream, pancakes and whatever else I can think of as well. I personally thought the waffles were too eggy for my tastes and would give the waffles a 3.5 if I could. I did not have rum extract for the sauce so I used 3 tsp vanilla (for the entire amount of extract in the sauce). The sauce was just amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States