Bananas Foster Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe as stated except I was out of rum extract so I used double the amount of pure madagascar vanilla extract. These waffles were so tasty! I will replace my regular waffle recipe with this one. For the pancake syrup used in this, I used the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup recipe (love) from this site. Thanks, Prell2k4 for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Excellent. I'm going to use this as a dessert if I ever have people over again. I followed this recipe exactly, except that I got lazy and time-crunched at the end and used Cool Whip instead of whipping cream. The waffles alone are fantastic, I served some with strawberries and Absolute Best Pancake Syrup for the fools that didn't want Bananas Foster. Thanks, Prell - another hit! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was awesome!!! I only used the sauce part of the recipe as a I had a craving for pancakes, Wow was it ever good. I did do things a little different, I doubled the recipe but I didn't double the pancake syrup. I also omitted the rum extract and added more vanilla. I wasn't too sweet and the taste of bananas was through out the sauce, I'm thinking when we make this again I want to try it with mashed bananas instead. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made the bananas foster topping according to the recipe and used it on top of pancakes. Added a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was better than what you get at IHOP! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Everyone loved them! I did the recipe EXACTLY AS STATED This recipe is a definite keeper - you get five stars all the way from my 5 yr old sold to my teenage daughters to my husband and even my mom! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irma Tchamourian Zamora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Wonderful flavors! I followed the recipe exactly and was definitely impressed by the combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rabcatlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I tried this reciepe for my Bed and Breakfast and would make a few changes. I would not put the pecans in the sauce, I think it would be better to chop and toast the pecans, then sprinkle on top. I would also reduce the rum extract to 1 tsp. I agree with another review regarding the waffle, a bit to eggie... I think once tweeked a bit, this receipe would make it to my bed and breakfast table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I only tried the waffle recipe- didn't make the banana topping. The waffles are very easy to make! They do have a very eggy flavor to them.... almost like french toast. Next time I will add some cinnamon to the mix to try that. They are also very heavy and I found leaving them in the waffle maker a little longer made them more crispy so they didn't get soggy quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I'm giving this 4 stars for the sauce. I thought the waffles tasted too much like egg. The sauce was amazing!!! And very easy! Will use for french toast, pancakes, or even vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Super easy, super fast. I didn't even make the waffle part of the recipe, using a commercial mix instead. The banana sauce was delicious. (Though didn't have any rum extract, but the vanilla was enough.) Next time I might halve the pecans, and perhaps even toast them first. Really liked that part of the recipe. Will make again. Probably taste good on pancakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Chef John's Bananas Foster

See how to make this surprisingly easy, show-stopping dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States