Bananas Foster Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe as stated except I was out of rum extract so I used double the amount of pure madagascar vanilla extract. These waffles were so tasty! I will replace my regular waffle recipe with this one. For the pancake syrup used in this, I used the Absolute Best Pancake Syrup recipe (love) from this site. Thanks, Prell2k4 for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Excellent. I'm going to use this as a dessert if I ever have people over again. I followed this recipe exactly, except that I got lazy and time-crunched at the end and used Cool Whip instead of whipping cream. The waffles alone are fantastic, I served some with strawberries and Absolute Best Pancake Syrup for the fools that didn't want Bananas Foster. Thanks, Prell - another hit! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was awesome!!! I only used the sauce part of the recipe as a I had a craving for pancakes, Wow was it ever good. I did do things a little different, I doubled the recipe but I didn't double the pancake syrup. I also omitted the rum extract and added more vanilla. I wasn't too sweet and the taste of bananas was through out the sauce, I'm thinking when we make this again I want to try it with mashed bananas instead. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I made the bananas foster topping according to the recipe and used it on top of pancakes. Added a scoop of vanilla ice cream and it was better than what you get at IHOP! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Everyone loved them! I did the recipe EXACTLY AS STATED This recipe is a definite keeper - you get five stars all the way from my 5 yr old sold to my teenage daughters to my husband and even my mom! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Wonderful flavors! I followed the recipe exactly and was definitely impressed by the combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rabcatlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I tried this reciepe for my Bed and Breakfast and would make a few changes. I would not put the pecans in the sauce, I think it would be better to chop and toast the pecans, then sprinkle on top. I would also reduce the rum extract to 1 tsp. I agree with another review regarding the waffle, a bit to eggie... I think once tweeked a bit, this receipe would make it to my bed and breakfast table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I only tried the waffle recipe- didn't make the banana topping. The waffles are very easy to make! They do have a very eggy flavor to them.... almost like french toast. Next time I will add some cinnamon to the mix to try that. They are also very heavy and I found leaving them in the waffle maker a little longer made them more crispy so they didn't get soggy quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Super easy, super fast. I didn't even make the waffle part of the recipe, using a commercial mix instead. The banana sauce was delicious. (Though didn't have any rum extract, but the vanilla was enough.) Next time I might halve the pecans, and perhaps even toast them first. Really liked that part of the recipe. Will make again. Probably taste good on pancakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used my own waffle recipe but made the sauce as in the recipe using Malibu rum. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States