Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I haven't eaten sweets for almost 5 years due to a super healthy diet, so finding this recipe was like finding a hidden treasure chest. I didn't realize that something so good could actually be pretty guiltless. Thank you for a life-changing recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Very good, dense and moist. As everyone else, I made it to my liking, and will list my changes below. But that doesn't take away from this wonderful, healthier choice for my kids favorite bread. Ok I added, 1\2 tsp baking powered, 1\2 cup applesauce, 1\2 tsp cinnamon, a pinch nutmeg, reduced the honey to a 1\4 cup, added 1\4 cup brown sugar, 1\4 cup mini chocolate chips, I did NOT add wheat germ. And yes the chocolate chips are not healthy. but still it's better then the white flour and cup of sugar my old recipe had. Now I put it all in the bread machine on dough setting, just to let it mix. With my cheap bread machine I had to help it mix some. Then set it to bake, took an 1 hour 10 minutes in the bread machine. Even the ends were moist. Kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This recipe is not for everyone, but it works for me. It is like the marriage of wheat bread, banana bread, and a bran muffin. It has very little sweetness, but it tastes well with a little whipped butter. It bakes up so nicely too. I used the exact sized pan suggested. It happens to be a darker baking pan of mine, but I used Bakers Joy spray and seemed to have no issues with over browning. I sprinkled the top with chopped pecans before baking and suggest that as a garnish. As far as ingredients I followed the recipe exactly except I used wheat bran instead of wheat germ and safflower oil for the vegetable oil. I also noted that the 1 1/2 cups of bananas came to 3 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Delicious!!!! Not overly sweet, like so many banana bread recipes. I cooked my loaf for 55 minutes, and it came out a little dark....I will try 45 minutes next time. I used 3 bananas, and that was barely 1-1/2 cups. Next time, I will try substituting applesauce, like so many have done, and ground flax seed. I may top the loaf with sunflower or pumpkin seeds, as well. Just the smell in my kitchen of this bread baking made it worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I tried this bread recipe yesterday night. I halved the recipe as it was a trial version. I did not have wheat germ, so I pulsed Quaker quick cooking oats in the grinder and used that (same measure). I don't like pecans and also didn't have any, so used chopped cashews. Baked it for 30 mins at 180 C and the bread turned out perfect. Not too sweet, not moist or dry, just like fresh bread. My family finished half of it after dinner. In the morning everyone tried a slice with a little butter and also lightly toasted (without butter). We all loved it and now I have a reliable bread recipe to use every week. Thank you Gladys George. Wish you all the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I did make some modifications as others have suggested such as increasing the bananas (I added five) and substituting 1/2 cup of applesauce for the oil. I omitted the wheat germ, because i didn't have any on hand and nuts because my son doesn't like the texture of them. Neither were missed. Absolutely fantastic. I didn't have a loaf pan or muffin pans so I baked it in a large cast iron skillet for 50 minutes. Came out perfect and yummy. Thanks for a healthy option for this bread. Yummy. (And my furrbabies can even have some for treats with the ingredients which means I don't have to make their treats separate from my yummy goodness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I try out banana bread recipes all the time and this one is thee best ever! I'm a health nut so I tweaked it like everyone else does on this site to suit my needs. Finally a recipe that uses just whole wheat bread. Love it, love it. Whoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I really like this recipe. I knew from the ingredients that it would be savoury rather than sweet. It is definitely NOT your grandma's traditional recipe. I made it exactly as written. It was moist and took an hour to bake. It was just what I was looking for as it keeps my sweet tooth happy without adding so many calories to my day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
We made this and it tasted great! We used agave nectar instead of honey, and we added extra bananas and about 1/3 cup of applesauce. We did not add nuts. We took ours out at 45 minutes, and it was a little bit undercooked at the top. Next time we will use a wooden toothpick to check doneness (our plastic one did not work!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I put oatmeal instead of wheat germ, added a handful of flaxseed, omitted pecans and use 1 egg cause that's what I have in hand and it came out moist and soft. My husband likes it and I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States