Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I tried this bread recipe yesterday night. I halved the recipe as it was a trial version. I did not have wheat germ, so I pulsed Quaker quick cooking oats in the grinder and used that (same measure). I don't like pecans and also didn't have any, so used chopped cashews. Baked it for 30 mins at 180 C and the bread turned out perfect. Not too sweet, not moist or dry, just like fresh bread. My family finished half of it after dinner. In the morning everyone tried a slice with a little butter and also lightly toasted (without butter). We all loved it and now I have a reliable bread recipe to use every week. Thank you Gladys George. Wish you all the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I did make some modifications as others have suggested such as increasing the bananas (I added five) and substituting 1/2 cup of applesauce for the oil. I omitted the wheat germ, because i didn't have any on hand and nuts because my son doesn't like the texture of them. Neither were missed. Absolutely fantastic. I didn't have a loaf pan or muffin pans so I baked it in a large cast iron skillet for 50 minutes. Came out perfect and yummy. Thanks for a healthy option for this bread. Yummy. (And my furrbabies can even have some for treats with the ingredients which means I don't have to make their treats separate from my yummy goodness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I try out banana bread recipes all the time and this one is thee best ever! I'm a health nut so I tweaked it like everyone else does on this site to suit my needs. Finally a recipe that uses just whole wheat bread. Love it, love it. Whoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I really like this recipe. I knew from the ingredients that it would be savoury rather than sweet. It is definitely NOT your grandma's traditional recipe. I made it exactly as written. It was moist and took an hour to bake. It was just what I was looking for as it keeps my sweet tooth happy without adding so many calories to my day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
We made this and it tasted great! We used agave nectar instead of honey, and we added extra bananas and about 1/3 cup of applesauce. We did not add nuts. We took ours out at 45 minutes, and it was a little bit undercooked at the top. Next time we will use a wooden toothpick to check doneness (our plastic one did not work!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I put oatmeal instead of wheat germ, added a handful of flaxseed, omitted pecans and use 1 egg cause that's what I have in hand and it came out moist and soft. My husband likes it and I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is my 1st recipe w/ entirely wheat flour and wheat germ. I was nervous that is was going to turn out dry. I took the tips & tricks of others and it came out moist & delicious. I replaced the oil with natural applesauce, soaked the walnuts in water while preparing the bread, used 4 bananas, decreased salt to 1/2 tsp, and added dark chocolate chips. I made mini loaves and cooked them for 25-28 minutes. My picky husband said it was awesome! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Here are my changes: only 1/3 cup honey, no wheat germ, no vanilla and used walnuts instead of pecans. I have a convection oven, so only 45 minutes. Thank you so much for such a healthy banana bread recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I LOVE this banana bread recipe. I've made this several times. I have a batch in the oven right now! I make muffins and cook only 20-25 minutes. The only thing I do different is add mini chocolate chips. Great for breakfast or as a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States