Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I don't eat banana bread -- I can't stand bananas -- but I made this for my husband, and he said it was really good. He said it was moist and perfectly sweet enough. I did add a 1/4 cup homemade, unsweetened applesauce to the wet ingredients, and I only baked it 45 minutes. I will almost certainly use this recipe again (even if I won't be the one eating it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
this recipe is fantastic and, with a few minor adjustments it makes a perfect treat for babies as well! I substituted molasses for the honey,applesauce for the oil and, 4 egg whites for the eggs(although if your baby is o.k to have egg whites you can leave it as is)Also to make it a little more spicy I added 1/4tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice and, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. My 10 month old son loves it!!(oh make sure your baby is o.k to have whole wheat before making this =>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This bread is fantastic! Tender, moist, delicious, and healthy. I used 4 bananas, a tsp of cinnamon, and applesauce in place of the oil. The kids loved it more than my "regular" banana bread. :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Simply delicious! I use apple sauce (1/3 cp) instead of oil, also use walnuts, and ground flax seed (substitute flax for a little bit of the flour-about 1/8cp) sometimes I add raisins, sometimes chocolate chips. I always put more mashed bananas than the recipe calls for. I prefer to bake these as muffins, last weekend I baked them as mini muffins (about 28 units) with chocolate chips and they were a big hit - everone that tasted them asked me for the recipe - including a man who never cooks (his wife is still skeptical about this...) I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was very good for a nutritious healthy bread. The only change I would make next time is to add more banana for a more intense flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
I love this banana bread so much! It's just the delicious snack this health nut was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Oh this is so good! I subbed applesauce for the oil and used 4 mashed bananas. I tried it with cream cheese, butter, honey, and peanut butter (each separately!)... by FAR the best was with peanut butter. This is probably the best breakfast in the world! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I really, really like the addition of wheat flour to the traditional banana bread. Baked in coffee cans. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Very good. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I was expecting this to not be sweet enough for my taste, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States