Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Everyone in my family, kids to adults, absolutely loved this bread. Very moist and rich. Hard to believe it's so healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is my absolute new favorite banana bread recipe! I grew up eating banana bread and this is the best ever! I used apple sauce instead of the oil, added extra vanilla and a teas of butter extract, and left out one of the egg yokes. I also laid a few pecans on the top of the loaf for more pecan flavoring. Lastly I added 1/2 cup chocolate chips and it turned out great! Slices beautifully and great for toasting and having plain or with coffee. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Very good recipe. I add a couple of tablespoons of sugar/splenda blend to it and a half a cup of applesauce. It's so nice and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I might sweeten it up a little for next time, but it was really moist and almost cake like texture. I sprinkled some oats and brown sugar on top. Loaf looked great, wish I had taken a picture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacyloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Turned out great! I used 3 bananas, margarine instead of oil, and a little less than 1/2 c of honey. I might add another banana next time or perhaps some shredded carrots. I used walnuts (toasted them first) instead of pecans. Also I'm planning to add some spices in the future. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
A good, healthy banana bread. I love that there is not refined sugar or flour in this recipe! My one complaint is that it's a bit dry...and I even tried adding an extra 1/2C mashed bananas. Definitely try not to overbake this! Also, chocolate chips are a yummy substitution for the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
These are delicious and healthy. I use 2 cups of banana, 1/2 c. applesauce for the oil and make about 4 1/2 dozen mini muffins. Bake 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this right to the recipe, baked it in the toaster oven for 55 minutes, and it turned out great. Not as sweet or oily as traditional banana bread, which makes it a great afternoon snack for me and my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Tasty for a whole wheat bread- not too dry like many like it. It is also easy to make. I think I will try adding some different nuts/seeds and fruit next time. Also- I like to substitue 1/2 the honey for 100% maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
shamefully I admit, between 4 people we went through an entire loaf in less than a day!! I didn't change the oil to applesauce because I was afraid it would be dry (I'll try it next time and will soak the walnuts like another person mentioned). I added cinnamon like most people said and used walnuts instead of pecans. I also used sugar free honey as I no longer eat sugar. great recipe & healthy!! update - I've made this both ways (per recipe and changing oil to apple sauce) and it taste exactly the same both ways, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States