Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
A good, healthy banana bread. I love that there is not refined sugar or flour in this recipe! My one complaint is that it's a bit dry...and I even tried adding an extra 1/2C mashed bananas. Definitely try not to overbake this! Also, chocolate chips are a yummy substitution for the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
These are delicious and healthy. I use 2 cups of banana, 1/2 c. applesauce for the oil and make about 4 1/2 dozen mini muffins. Bake 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I made this right to the recipe, baked it in the toaster oven for 55 minutes, and it turned out great. Not as sweet or oily as traditional banana bread, which makes it a great afternoon snack for me and my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Tasty for a whole wheat bread- not too dry like many like it. It is also easy to make. I think I will try adding some different nuts/seeds and fruit next time. Also- I like to substitue 1/2 the honey for 100% maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
shamefully I admit, between 4 people we went through an entire loaf in less than a day!! I didn't change the oil to applesauce because I was afraid it would be dry (I'll try it next time and will soak the walnuts like another person mentioned). I added cinnamon like most people said and used walnuts instead of pecans. I also used sugar free honey as I no longer eat sugar. great recipe & healthy!! update - I've made this both ways (per recipe and changing oil to apple sauce) and it taste exactly the same both ways, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is fantastic banana bread. I used applesauce instead of oil and added a few chocolate chips for additional sweetness. GREAT! I am always being asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierJenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I liked that this recipe was very healthy but it turned out a little dry and heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe for my 17 month old (for easy breakfasts) and it turned out great. I halved the recipe. I took the advice of some of the other reviews and used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I used 2 mashed bananas and I added 2 tablespoons of plain yogurt. Came out really moist and not too sweet. I made them as mini muffins (it made 1 full tray of 24 mini muffins) and separated them into sandwich bags with 2 or 3 in each bag and froze them. Oh, I also should say that I only baked them for about 20 minutes. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I love this recipe. It's good for you and tastes great. I've made it many times and never had a loaf turn out anything other than perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Eh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States