Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Not a sweet banana bread, but still moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
For me this bread was a bit dry and bland (and I was careful not to over-handle the dough). I used 4 big bananas and added 1 tsp cinnamon and some nutmeg. Next time I might add some brown sugar or chocolate chips, and use more bananas (the good bites are the ones that have little sweet chunks of banana); applesauce might also help. It also might need to be covered at least half of the time it's in the oven - the top of mine started to burn at 35 minutes (I live at high altitude. Ugh). I'll definitely try it again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I substituted vanilla yogurt for the vegetable oil, used ground flax instead of wheat germ (what I had on hand), used 1/4 c. honey and 1/4 brown sugar, and added 1 c. dark chocolate chips. It turned out great and the chips added a different taste to the bread that was nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Sorry, this did not appeal to anyone in the family. No one liked the combination of honey and banana, and it was not sweet enough. The texture was decent, that's about the only good thing I can say about it. I have tried many banana bread recipes, and this one is probably the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Very good banana bread. One critique...my baking time was about 45-50 minutes. An hour would have been too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Loved this one but the baking time was too much..mine was ready in half an hour..but it was really delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Love this banana bread. People have told me that this is the "best" banana bread they have tasted. I also don't feel guilty giving it to my kids as an after-school snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We just took these out of the oven and they are wonderful! I did make a few changes: 1. Added about a 1/4 cup of ground flax seeds 2. Used Agava syrup instead of honey(just didn't have honey on hand) 3. Added 1/2 of applesauce. We baked them as muffins for 15 minutes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
So glad I found this recipe! I did what many reviewers recommended and upped the bananas to 2 cups (~ 4 small to medium bananas) and used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of oil. I also used walnuts instead of pecans and added 1/2 cup of craisins. I substituted egg beaters whites for the eggs. It turned out great, very hearty and filling and plenty moist. It makes a great "breakfast bread"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Pretty good muffins. Baked for 25 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States