Banana Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. I did make some modifications as others have suggested such as increasing the bananas (I added five) and substituting 1/2 cup of applesauce for the oil. I omitted the wheat germ, because i didn't have any on hand and nuts because my son doesn't like the texture of them. Neither were missed. Absolutely fantastic. I didn't have a loaf pan or muffin pans so I baked it in a large cast iron skillet for 50 minutes. Came out perfect and yummy. Thanks for a healthy option for this bread. Yummy. (And my furrbabies can even have some for treats with the ingredients which means I don't have to make their treats separate from my yummy goodness.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer D

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I try out banana bread recipes all the time and this one is thee best ever! I'm a health nut so I tweaked it like everyone else does on this site to suit my needs. Finally a recipe that uses just whole wheat bread. Love it, love it. Whoop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I really like this recipe. I knew from the ingredients that it would be savoury rather than sweet. It is definitely NOT your grandma's traditional recipe. I made it exactly as written. It was moist and took an hour to bake. It was just what I was looking for as it keeps my sweet tooth happy without adding so many calories to my day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
We made this and it tasted great! We used agave nectar instead of honey, and we added extra bananas and about 1/3 cup of applesauce. We did not add nuts. We took ours out at 45 minutes, and it was a little bit undercooked at the top. Next time we will use a wooden toothpick to check doneness (our plastic one did not work!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph.Dennis
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I put oatmeal instead of wheat germ, added a handful of flaxseed, omitted pecans and use 1 egg cause that's what I have in hand and it came out moist and soft. My husband likes it and I absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph.Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is my 1st recipe w/ entirely wheat flour and wheat germ. I was nervous that is was going to turn out dry. I took the tips & tricks of others and it came out moist & delicious. I replaced the oil with natural applesauce, soaked the walnuts in water while preparing the bread, used 4 bananas, decreased salt to 1/2 tsp, and added dark chocolate chips. I made mini loaves and cooked them for 25-28 minutes. My picky husband said it was awesome! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Here are my changes: only 1/3 cup honey, no wheat germ, no vanilla and used walnuts instead of pecans. I have a convection oven, so only 45 minutes. Thank you so much for such a healthy banana bread recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I LOVE this banana bread recipe. I've made this several times. I have a batch in the oven right now! I make muffins and cook only 20-25 minutes. The only thing I do different is add mini chocolate chips. Great for breakfast or as a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Essexville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is fantastic! The texture was perfect (I made mini loaves and baked for 28 minutes), and this tastes good as well as tasting healthy. I do agree with some of the other comments about using more bananas though. 1 1/2 cups does not seem to provide enough banana taste to this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States