Banana Walnut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Very good! I don't like the texture of bananas but since they were puréed it made a nice consistency. The ice cream came out creamy and not hard. I used pecans instead of walnuts and added dark chocolate chunks and mini marshmallows. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
My first attempt with this recipe, and it turned out wonderfully! Took it to a church picnic, and there were no left overs! Consistency was perfect, and the flavor was just right. I used three bananas, and didn't have any walnuts, so used pecans. Got several compliments. The process was time-consuming, but results were well worth the trouble. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The mixture of banana and walnut was fantastic. Everything was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I had some half and half that needed using up, so hunting through AR I came across this recipe. I have not made ice cream for a long time, so I followed the recipe exactly, other than halving all ingredients to fit in my 1.5 quart ice cream maker (it fitted in perfectly). I did add just over a teaspoon of Banana extract. I chopped up the walnut's slightly. I just loved the taste of this ice cream, perfect. This really will become a summer favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Didn't change a thing... Well, I added just a little more banana. :) And IT WAS AMAZING!!! Definately a keeper! Thank you so very very much for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
The recipe is another great way to use up ripe bananas that are sitting around in the kitchen. Beats making banana bread every time the bananas go too ripe. My family loved the recipe, but since they have a sweet tooth, I added dark chocolate chips and marsh mallows to the mixture before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
VERY good ice cream! we leave out the walnuts, and sometimes add chocolate chips...always turns out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe is perfect. Nice and smooth and creamy. To enhance flavor and crispness I simply toasted the walnuts before adding. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is an amazingly delicious ice cream. I made it exactly as written, but didn`t have an ice cream maker, so just put the custard in the freezer. The banana flavor is so rich, the texture is very creamy, nuts give an extra kick, although the ice cream will be delicious without nuts too. This is one of the most delicious ice cream recipes I`ve tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Incredible! This was my first attempt at making ice cream. If I hadn't seen it come out of the ice cream maker I never would have guessed it was homemade. Wonderfully creamy! Certainly an indulgence food that I will need to limit to special occasions though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdroush

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grandview, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States