Banana Walnut Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This came out great for me. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I came up short on the heavy cream and had to use about 1/4 cup more half n half instead. My consistency was perfect and it had great banana flavor. We ate some right out of the ice cream maker that night, and it was good, but it was even better the next day. I will definitely make this again. Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Perhaps the best ice-cream ever. I did change to 1/2 and 1/2 for all the dairy as I don't think the extra fat in heavy cream was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Very good! I don't like the texture of bananas but since they were puréed it made a nice consistency. The ice cream came out creamy and not hard. I used pecans instead of walnuts and added dark chocolate chunks and mini marshmallows. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
My first attempt with this recipe, and it turned out wonderfully! Took it to a church picnic, and there were no left overs! Consistency was perfect, and the flavor was just right. I used three bananas, and didn't have any walnuts, so used pecans. Got several compliments. The process was time-consuming, but results were well worth the trouble. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The mixture of banana and walnut was fantastic. Everything was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I had some half and half that needed using up, so hunting through AR I came across this recipe. I have not made ice cream for a long time, so I followed the recipe exactly, other than halving all ingredients to fit in my 1.5 quart ice cream maker (it fitted in perfectly). I did add just over a teaspoon of Banana extract. I chopped up the walnut's slightly. I just loved the taste of this ice cream, perfect. This really will become a summer favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Didn't change a thing... Well, I added just a little more banana. :) And IT WAS AMAZING!!! Definately a keeper! Thank you so very very much for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
The recipe is another great way to use up ripe bananas that are sitting around in the kitchen. Beats making banana bread every time the bananas go too ripe. My family loved the recipe, but since they have a sweet tooth, I added dark chocolate chips and marsh mallows to the mixture before freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
VERY good ice cream! we leave out the walnuts, and sometimes add chocolate chips...always turns out perfectly. Thanks for a great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe is perfect. Nice and smooth and creamy. To enhance flavor and crispness I simply toasted the walnuts before adding. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States