Banana Wake-Up Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made these exactly how the recipe described and they were great. They don't look anything like the picture and do not even closely resemble a granola bar, I thought they would. They are fluffy like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
As is, it is a bit bland. I changed it up to my liking by: doubled for 9 x 13 pan, used 1/2 crunchy and 1/2 smooth p. butter, added chocolate chips and chopped pecans, subbed 3 Tblsp butter for the applesauce, subbed ground flax seed for wheat germ (that's what I had on hand), used Quick cooking oats (that could be the reason why some reviews mention the oats didn't seem cooked if they're using Old Fashioned or whole oats). I always keep frozen bananas in the freezer so I can be ready to make a banana-whatever...whenever. I like this recipe because it is relatively low in sugar and fat, and you can't beat p. butter and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
UPDATE!! i TRIED ONE A COUPLE HOURS LATER AND LIKED THEM ALOT BETTER!! NOT AS GOOD STILL WARM LET THEM SIT AWHILE!! VERY GOOD!!Im always looking for healthy snacks or something healthy and quick for breakfast so i thought id give this recipe a try!! Eh i certainly wasnt blown away by them they were very easy to throw together i did sub apple sauce for the butter next time i will add a bit more peanut butter couldnt really taste it and add some nuts fora little crunch over all this recipe is ok at best iv defiently had worse...lol i will try them again with my modifications and see how they taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Really good and easy. A really good way to use up bananas and I had all ingredients on hand. Next time I will add nuts or chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Good recipe. I thought it was a bit flavorless and the oats didn't cook completely. I used flax seed instead since that is what I had, otherwise kept every as per the recipe. If I make this again I will add some cinnamon and nutmeg and do as others recommended, soak or toast the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These are so good. The only change I made was to use ground flax seed instead of wheat germ. I like that they are low in sugar. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Made these for breakfast this morning and they taste great! I love the peanut butter with the banana. The only thing I changed was subbing coconut oil for the butter, added some almond extract and 1/4 tsp. salt. to the batter. I only wish I would have doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
These were good but I wished there was more banana flavor in these. They were heavy on the peanut butter taste.I took them to work and microwaved them for 15 seconds before eating. These are cake-like bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I was looking for a good breakfast bar that wasn't too sugary for a picky toddler and 13 month. I liked that this had so many hunger holding ingredients. Even many of the healthier boxed cereals have a lot of sugar, so I didn't mind this having a little. My 2 1/2 year old helped me make these, and they were a hit. I was out of wheat germ, so I omitted it. Also, I used wheat flour instead. They were good. Mine were a little crumbly from the wheat flour, so next time I'll add a little veg. oil, honey or more fruit. I made this batch with banana, and it definitely has a strong banana flavor that competes with the peanut butter flavor. I'd say the banana flavor was equal to the peanut butter flavor. I expected them to have a stronger peanut butter flavor. I also expected it to be more sticky or chewy, like a bar, than like a bread or muffin. Even still, I liked it and hope to make them again soon with applesauce. I did add a little nutmeg and cinnamon, because the flavor is more like a cliff bar where its very subtle but not flavor packed. I wouldn't serve this for dessert, but they're great for breakfast with coffee or milk for the little ones. I think its an easy recipe to adjust to your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I had one very ripe banana, so I decided to use this recipe as inspiration. As suggested in other reviews, I used applesauce instead of margarine, whole wheat flour and a bit of cinnamon. I have a favorite "healthy cookie" recipe that starts with a package cookie mix and adds TONS of other things. I did that with these bars. . . I added additional oatmeal, raisins, craisins, coconut and toffee bits. Baked it for 25 minutes in an 8x8" pan. My neighbor and I loved them. The texture is more like a snack cake than a granola bar. I ate mine with my hands with no problems :) 7/23/13 - Ohmigoodness! Inspired by the thought of a banana split, tweaked this recipe today as follows: subbed 3 T. applesauce for margarine, added 1 small can crushed pineapple (drained) and a small handful of chopped maraschino cherries with mashed banana. Added a small handful of coconut, half a bag of Ghirardelli 60% cacao bittersweet baking chocolate chips and some cocoa (eyeballed it). Used mini loaf pans (filled 1/3 full) and baked 25 minutes. EXCELLENT! 2/4/14 - Made these Paleo for my daughter by substituting honey for brown sugar, gluten-free granola instead of oatmeal and almond meal/flour instead of wheat flour. Added raisins, craisins and coconut. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States