Banana Wake-Up Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dadof3
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Kids loved it, used exact measurements subbing apple sauce for butter, soaked oats 10 mins, super fluffy and mostly healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
3.5 stars. Not bad. Tastes like banana bread with a twist of peanut butter cookie. Maybe not as flavorful, but I do like that it's much healthier. Since others mentioned that it's fairly bland, I added dried cranberries and some nutmeg. I also used flax seed instead of wheat germ (better for you!) I'll be curious to see if my kids like them in the morning. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made these exactly how the recipe described and they were great. They don't look anything like the picture and do not even closely resemble a granola bar, I thought they would. They are fluffy like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
As is, it is a bit bland. I changed it up to my liking by: doubled for 9 x 13 pan, used 1/2 crunchy and 1/2 smooth p. butter, added chocolate chips and chopped pecans, subbed 3 Tblsp butter for the applesauce, subbed ground flax seed for wheat germ (that's what I had on hand), used Quick cooking oats (that could be the reason why some reviews mention the oats didn't seem cooked if they're using Old Fashioned or whole oats). I always keep frozen bananas in the freezer so I can be ready to make a banana-whatever...whenever. I like this recipe because it is relatively low in sugar and fat, and you can't beat p. butter and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
UPDATE!! i TRIED ONE A COUPLE HOURS LATER AND LIKED THEM ALOT BETTER!! NOT AS GOOD STILL WARM LET THEM SIT AWHILE!! VERY GOOD!!Im always looking for healthy snacks or something healthy and quick for breakfast so i thought id give this recipe a try!! Eh i certainly wasnt blown away by them they were very easy to throw together i did sub apple sauce for the butter next time i will add a bit more peanut butter couldnt really taste it and add some nuts fora little crunch over all this recipe is ok at best iv defiently had worse...lol i will try them again with my modifications and see how they taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Really good and easy. A really good way to use up bananas and I had all ingredients on hand. Next time I will add nuts or chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Good recipe. I thought it was a bit flavorless and the oats didn't cook completely. I used flax seed instead since that is what I had, otherwise kept every as per the recipe. If I make this again I will add some cinnamon and nutmeg and do as others recommended, soak or toast the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
These are so good. The only change I made was to use ground flax seed instead of wheat germ. I like that they are low in sugar. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Made these for breakfast this morning and they taste great! I love the peanut butter with the banana. The only thing I changed was subbing coconut oil for the butter, added some almond extract and 1/4 tsp. salt. to the batter. I only wish I would have doubled the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
These were good but I wished there was more banana flavor in these. They were heavy on the peanut butter taste.I took them to work and microwaved them for 15 seconds before eating. These are cake-like bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States