Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I thought these were really good. I substitued 1/2 cup whole wheat flour for some of the AP flour and mashed the bananas into the batter. They had a really wonderful flavor and puffed up nicely in my belgian waffle maker. A nice healthy alternative to my usual gut-busting waffle recipe filled with butter and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made these this morning, and they were delicious! I was only cooking for me, so I halved the recipe, except I only added a pinch of salt (1/4 tsp seemed excessive.) I substituted the flour for whole wheat flour, and I also threw in a couple sprinklings of cinnamon. Instead of mashing the banans, as others have done, I chopped them into little chunks and threw them in with the batter, which worked really well. Overall they turned out great - not too sweet, but with a nice nutty flavor. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Loved them! My 4 year old was thrilled- & we were as well. I switched to 1/2 whole wheat flour/rest AP. Added about 1/2 t. cinnamon & an extra dash nutmeg/mashed the bananas(which were extra ripe). Buttered the non-stick waffle maker & they were still a bit sticky-but well worth the patience to peel them off! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Made the recipe exactly as written and I wasn't particularly impressed by the results. The batter was very thick and I had to add much more milk in order to make it pourable and when cooked they were very dense and a little tough. The flavour was ok, however I think it needed a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These didn't work so well for me - they were a little flat. I followed the recipe except I mashed the bananas. Maybe that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These waffles have become a regular Sunday staple for my husband and I - really delicious and about 9,000,000 times healthier than the standard "take one stick of butter, 5 eggs, and a cup of sour cream" versions. One change we've made is to mash 2 bananas with a fork & mix them into the batter, instead of putting the slices on the batter in the waffle iron. This keeps the waffles from sticking to the iron - and still gives a great banana taste. Thanks for your contribution to our weekend brunch ritual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These are my favorite weekend breakfast. Especially when my husband makes them for me ;) I like to microwave some frozen berries with a little maple syrup for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe, but to make it healthier, I used whole wheat flour. I also added 2 tbs of grounded flax seeds and some blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caryn
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was my first attempt at waffles so any imperfections I contribute to my lack of skill and not the recipe. Like others I mashed the bananas and added cinnamon. I also added two tablespoons of sugar. The battered looked a little thin so I added 1/4 cup of flour but next time I will stick to the recipe. I think they would be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Makes great Waffles. Instead of slicing the bananas I mashed them up and mixed them in. I also added some oil to the mix to make it nonstick. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States