Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These waffles have become a regular Sunday staple for my husband and I - really delicious and about 9,000,000 times healthier than the standard "take one stick of butter, 5 eggs, and a cup of sour cream" versions. One change we've made is to mash 2 bananas with a fork & mix them into the batter, instead of putting the slices on the batter in the waffle iron. This keeps the waffles from sticking to the iron - and still gives a great banana taste. Thanks for your contribution to our weekend brunch ritual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These are my favorite weekend breakfast. Especially when my husband makes them for me ;) I like to microwave some frozen berries with a little maple syrup for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe, but to make it healthier, I used whole wheat flour. I also added 2 tbs of grounded flax seeds and some blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caryn
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was my first attempt at waffles so any imperfections I contribute to my lack of skill and not the recipe. Like others I mashed the bananas and added cinnamon. I also added two tablespoons of sugar. The battered looked a little thin so I added 1/4 cup of flour but next time I will stick to the recipe. I think they would be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Makes great Waffles. Instead of slicing the bananas I mashed them up and mixed them in. I also added some oil to the mix to make it nonstick. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This reciped needed fat content, so I added a generous TBSP of butter and that did the trick. I also replaced 1/4 cup of the flour with oats, making the waffles healthier and crunchier. The bananas can also be cut or mashed into the batter while it is still in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I have made this several times and the whole family loves them. I add the bananas mashed in the batter. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Just made these waffles for brunch - I had leftover bananas, so went looking for a recipe. I mashed the bananas, added the milk and egg to them, then 1 tbsp sugar and finally the flour mixture with 1/4 tsp cinnamon as well as the nutmeg and 1/4 cup of chopped pecans. I have a Belgian waffle maker, and the first waffle was soggy (as I think about it - mashing the banana would not help!). So I then sprayed the waffle maker (even though it is a non-stick variety) and added 1/2 cup more of flour to the remaining batter - so the first waffle I discarded, but after the extra flour and spraying the waffle maker, the result was very good and made 3 good sized waffles. Remove as soon as cooked as they overcook easily. I'll add 2/3+ cup of flour to the full recipe next time I make them Loved the banana nut flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These were pretty good. i'm rating it a 3 for the original recipe because i altered it when it didnt quite work for me. i found when the bananas were sliced they stuck to the top of the waffle iron. The next time i made them i mashed the bananas and put them in the batter. This worked much better and they tasted very good!i've made them this way many times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
A good recipe. We added chopped walnuts, and substituted regular milk with vanilla soymilk. We also slightly mashed out bananas into the mix. Texture was good, and outside crunchy. We didn't have to add any extra milk as other reviewers have had to. I didn't think it was earth shaking, but it was good, and we'd make it again. All my kids asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States