Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These were really good with peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Like others, I added mashed bananas to the mixture, and also added a little cinnamon. Topped them with maple syrup and a wee sprinkle of chopped pecans. Wonderful! Thanks, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Tasty--we did mash the bananas in. Also swapped in 1/4 cup whole wheat flour to add a little extra flavor. For us it made 5 round waffles. Next time may add a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I use this recipe as a starting point. Sub half wheat flour. Add 1/2 to 1 extra banana, smashing 1 and slicing the rest. Add cinnamon, add about 1tbsp on brown sugar, and add nuts. This has become a staple weekend breakfast for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Modified recipe by: 1) Roughly smashing the bananas 2) Subbing in 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour 3) Adding cinnamon and cloves to the batter 4) Adding a TBSP of sugar 5) Instead of adding 1 egg, I used two egg whites, beaten until stiff, and one egg yolk. The result was excellent - a slightly sweet waffle with a light, but chewy texture. They tasted amazing for something so relatively healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Num num num! I made this a little healthier by subbing half of the regular flour w/ whole wheat. I mashed up the bananas as suggested and added a dash of cinnamon. Topped with 100% pure maple syrup and a dollop of whipped cream. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I'm a little tired of making banana muffins for my little guy, so I decided to try banana waffles. I mashed up the bananas after reading other reviews (actually, my 2 year old did), but other than that followed the recipe. I doubled it, because I make waffles to freeze them for breakfasts for him(waffles go in the car easily!). Turned out great, and my son and husband LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I had a hard time with the waffles not sticking to the waffle iron, even when I liberally sprayed with cooking spray. The batter was okay and I'm sure that it worked well for others, but it just wasn't what I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Ahhhhhh. Ok, I didn't exactly follow the recipe - I followed others' advice and mashed the bananas and added them to the waffle batter. BUT, I think it would have turned out worse if I had sliced the bananas and layered them in like the recipe calls for. The batter was so insanely thick. It came apart in the waffle iron, and I had to scrap it out. I thought, maybe I'll add oil..more scrapping. Well, maybe it needs a little more milk...more scrapping...maybe another egg to hold it together...scrapping. More milk? Scrapping. Mind you, I oiled the waffle iron between each attempt. In the end, the batter was much more like traditional waffle batter, with almost 2 cups of milk, and another egg, and maybe 3-4 tbsp of oil. Still it did not work. HOWEVER, the altered batter did make incredible pancakes!!! So, if I do this again, I think I'll just make the pancakes (though, I am tempted to try the original recipe with the layering, just in case it works because it is a much healthier batter). Thank you for ultimately giving me a great banana pancake recipe, at least :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This recipe was a hit with my family. I read a few reviews before preparing it and tried some of the alterations. My version used half whole wheat flour, cinnamon, mashed bananas, and a bit of sugar. They were definitely sticky, but it was worth peeling them off the waffle iron. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roland, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States