Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made the recipe as is, and I would rate it 3 stars. I made them again with the following changes: I mashed the bananas and mixed them into the batter, I added a tablespoon of sugar and a half a teaspoon of cinnamon for flavor, and I used soy milk because I like the flavor. I added just a little more milk than it called for, and this made 4 full waffles instead of 3 3/4 from the original recipe. I have made them several times now with the changes and I love them! I always make extra and freeze the leftovers for quick breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I mashed the banana like some reviewers suggested. I like them, but they are sort of soft and I think next time I'll put a little bit of sugar in the batter. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of baked bananas, but I thought these were pretty good, and my kids really liked them! I followed the layering technique as described, and didn't have any problems with it. I did oil up my waffle iron pretty well, though. I didn't have any cooking spray, so I poured in a teaspoon or two of grapeseed oil, then turned it a few times to make sure both sides were coated. I may try adding it to the batter next time. A waffle batter really should have enough oil that you don't have to oil the iron at all, so I'm giving this a four as written. I also made a few ingredient substitutions based on what I had available. I used half cake flour and half whole wheat, and mixed up some powdered milk instead of using fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandi Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Tried the recipe with mashed banana's, tastes great and is the perfect amount of waffles for 2-3 people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These waffles came out really nice! Not too sweet and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tati
Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Used the Foreman waffle plates -6 or 7 min and awesome...not as crisp as I'd like, but that could be the grill. I also used half whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAYHOWFUN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Very tasty! I doubled the recipe and made Belgian waffles. Served them with some cinnamon butter, maple syrup and fresh blueberries and raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
First time making waffles. This batter was perfect. Only thing I added was about a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I made mine Elvis.. added bacon and topped with peanut butter. I liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Delicious waffles...and easily customizable. I tripled this recipe, adding 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. Also mashed the bananas--using five large ripe ones when tripled. Added a little canola oil, as well as separated yolks from whites, whipping whites into creamy froth before adding to mixture. We cook in waffle iron for 3 minutes. Delicious--and excellent for reheating for school-morning breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States