Banana Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Loved them! My 4 year old was thrilled- & we were as well. I switched to 1/2 whole wheat flour/rest AP. Added about 1/2 t. cinnamon & an extra dash nutmeg/mashed the bananas(which were extra ripe). Buttered the non-stick waffle maker & they were still a bit sticky-but well worth the patience to peel them off! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Made the recipe exactly as written and I wasn't particularly impressed by the results. The batter was very thick and I had to add much more milk in order to make it pourable and when cooked they were very dense and a little tough. The flavour was ok, however I think it needed a dash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
These didn't work so well for me - they were a little flat. I followed the recipe except I mashed the bananas. Maybe that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These waffles have become a regular Sunday staple for my husband and I - really delicious and about 9,000,000 times healthier than the standard "take one stick of butter, 5 eggs, and a cup of sour cream" versions. One change we've made is to mash 2 bananas with a fork & mix them into the batter, instead of putting the slices on the batter in the waffle iron. This keeps the waffles from sticking to the iron - and still gives a great banana taste. Thanks for your contribution to our weekend brunch ritual!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These are my favorite weekend breakfast. Especially when my husband makes them for me ;) I like to microwave some frozen berries with a little maple syrup for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I loved this recipe, but to make it healthier, I used whole wheat flour. I also added 2 tbs of grounded flax seeds and some blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caryn
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was my first attempt at waffles so any imperfections I contribute to my lack of skill and not the recipe. Like others I mashed the bananas and added cinnamon. I also added two tablespoons of sugar. The battered looked a little thin so I added 1/4 cup of flour but next time I will stick to the recipe. I think they would be crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Makes great Waffles. Instead of slicing the bananas I mashed them up and mixed them in. I also added some oil to the mix to make it nonstick. My whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This reciped needed fat content, so I added a generous TBSP of butter and that did the trick. I also replaced 1/4 cup of the flour with oats, making the waffles healthier and crunchier. The bananas can also be cut or mashed into the batter while it is still in the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I have made this several times and the whole family loves them. I add the bananas mashed in the batter. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Banana Waffles

Make delicious waffles with bananas cooked inside the batter.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States