Banana Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by coleebear
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I loved this cake. It was moist and the flavors all really came together. I did use a yellow cake mix just because I couldn't find a banana cake mix. I made it in a 9' x 13' pan as well as I don't have 8 inch round pans. Due to the difference in pan size I only had to bake it like 30 minutes. My advice when it smells done it probably is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was fantastic! Used canola oil instead of butter in my yellow cake mix, and added a tsp of coconut extract and a cup of shredded coconut to the batter. Also sprinkled coconut in the pan before putting the banana slices in. This was soooo moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalyana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is deeelicious! I couldn't find banana cake mix so I used a yellow mix and added a mashed banana to it. I love butter/sugar/pecan topping so I decided to double it, but it made it a little too sweet, so next time I'll only do 1 1/2 x's the butter/sugar but double the nuts. Lastly, I wanted one big cake so I just used a 9x13 pan and baked it for 40 minutes. Turned out onto a platter as soon as it came out and there was no sticking and it looked very pretty. I ate a piece warm and the bananas just melt in your mouth. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Ten stars !!! I changed the recipe just a bit. Here is what I did: Yellow cake with pudding in the mix (it is all I had) 1 stick of butter/margarine; 3/4 cup brown sugar; no pecans. Melted the butter and mixed in the brown sugar. Used a bundt pan and poured the butter/brown sugar mixture in the bottom of the bundt pan after lightly greasing. Sliced four bananas and placed them on top of the butter/brown sugar mixture. Mixed the cake mix according to package directions and poured over bananas. It took 40 minutes at 350 for mine to be done. Let it cool for about 15 minutes in the pan and then inverted onto a cake plate. Very pretty and looks scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Sooo good! My kids liked it better than pineapple upside down cake. Kept it in the fridge and thought it was even better a day later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Yum! Best Dessert Ever! We also used a yellow cake mix with 2-1/2 mashed bananas and then made as directed but put it all in a 9x13 cake pan. We're thinking about making it as a layered cake next time in a bundt pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This was fantastic!!! I didn't have banana cake mix, so I used moist yellow cake mix instead. I mashed a banana with spiced rum and added it to the mix. I also doubled the topping mix and divided it all into cupcake pans. Absolutely amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princesse2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Banana is my favourite cake and this was fantastic! We like a little denser banana cake so next time I will use a Banana Muffin Mix instead of the regular banana cake mix. Oh, so delicious! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graceeh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This is a very good recipe and very versatile. I have made it twice. First time, I made it as written and it was very tasty, but not nearly enough topping. The second time I made it, I used Yellow cake mix and a box of Banana pudding mix, I doubled the topping, but I used Macadamia Nuts instead of Pecans and I added Coconut. I also added mini chocolate chips to the batter and added 1/4 cup of Amarula Cream Liquer. It was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAM29922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Very moist and yummy. I didn't have banana cake mix so I used yellow cake and it was just as good, I'm sure. Also added cinnamon to the cake mix. Cooked about 30 min. in one 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Letter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States