Banana Upside-Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
We love love loved this cake! We couldn't find a banana cake mix so we had to use a yellow with butter mix. To it we added 2.5 mashed bananas to get a banana-y flavor in the cake. We also made one 9x13 cake instead of 2-8 inch cakes. Best dessert in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was my first time making an upside down cake of any kind, and I found this recipe super easy to follow, and it turned out DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Delicious cake! Very sweet on top, but the mellow cake below and the cool whipped cream really makes it wonderful. I used darkest brown sugar to give it a bit of a darker flavor, and it was amazing. I put the bananas on top, and they are so coated in sugar and nuts, they keep just fine. I don't think there is any need for mixing them into the batter. (Unless you prefer a mixed banana nut cake, of course!) Great for afternoon tea, breakfast, or as a snack. Thanks for the recipe-- it will stay in my repertoire for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was a good simple recipe. I didn't do the upside-down part, even though that seems to be the star of the cake. My bananas were frozen, so when it defrosted, it was all mushy. So I ended up mixing it into the cake, and also mixing in walnuts (which was what I had on hand) into the cake. I also substituted 1/2 cup of Whole Wheat Flour. Cake still turned out really moist. So my version turned out more like a Banana Nut Cake. I liked the fact that it had yogurt in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
OMG!!!!this was my first time baking banana upside-down cake and it was delicious, everybody was commending my baking skills and asking for the recipe, they think I'm a pro(I fool them,haha) Anyways, I followed the recipe exactly and the directions, and it was very easy to make, with ingredients that I always have on hand, and the results are just this wonderful, moist, banana rich cake, I made it 2 times in a week, UPON REQUEST!!!! love it, love it! deserves 10 stars! thank u! oh, and don't worry the bananas hold up pretty good, the taste is totally different if you mix the bananas with the flour mix than following the recipe and having the bananas on top, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susycooks4_2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
DELICIOUS!! Do not hesitate to try this recipe, you will love it! I baked this for our Sunday Church breakfast and it was gone faster than you can say AMEN! I did not make any substitutions to the ingredients, measured all proportions and actually used some VERY RIPE bananas I had (I put them in the freezer, this makes them easier to cut up in slices and to toss around in the lemon juice; frozen bananas are also Perfect for smoothies in a flash) I also added a wee bit of dark rum to the caramelized brown sugar, gave it a nice flavor and spice. Make sure you only use 1,2 tbsps. It's enough. HAPPY BAKING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was a great recipe, even though I didn't follow the directions, and I hate it when people don't follow the directions and they make bad comments about a recipe. I just knew we wouldn't eat this cake up in one day and wasn't sure how the bananas would hold up so I opted to just mix them right into the batter and it came out great, family loved it, Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tarkio, Missouri, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This makes a good, moist cake with the right hint of lemon to offset the sweetness. An important hint however - place a cookie tray underneath the springform pan when baking! Maybe my cake pan needs replacing, but it started leaking through after just 5 minutes in the oven. Also, if you have an efficient oven, you may want to check at 30 minutes...this bakes quickly and would not be as good if you overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States