Banana Split Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
People seem to be having a lot of problems with this recipe. The first problem is in the title as it makes people expect a cheesecake. That's not what you get. This dessert is usually called "Banana Split Dessert." My recipe came from my aunt years ago. I revised it to suit my taste. Another problem people have is with the filling not setting. Beat it for a very long time. I came across a recipe on the internet that suggested beating it for 20 minutes. I add 1 tsp vanilla extract so I can actually taste the filling. Lastly, you have build the banana split to your liking. I like bananas, strawberries, and nut topping. I also drizzle the fudge or chocolate syrup on individual servings. You could use milk chocolate chips or chocolate sprinkles instead of a sauce. Make it your own. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This pie is great! Big hit at work and every place I've taken it. A few things I changed: I use an already made graham cracker pie crust (SO much easier! If you do this, the recipe makes 2 pies, or cut in half for one). Add sliced strawberries with the bananas and pineapple. And don't drizzle on the chocote until right before serving (it runs). Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I've made this 4 times in the last 2 weeks. My family loves it and everyone wants to me to make it now. I did use a different graham cracker crust because I couldn't get recipes crust out of my pan. The graham cracker crust on this site that you had to bake was good. A few tips would be to use 20oz of pineapple. Put the pineapple in a strainer and really get the juices out so your pie doesn't get soggy. I also rinsed and dried my cherries so the red wouldn't run in the cool whip. 8oz of cool whip was plenty. My Mom made the comment that strawberries were missing so I now drizzle strawberry syrup over the filling before the banana and following toppings! Delicious! One more thing, I just used a 9 inch pie plate and you need a strong mixer, I burnt one up making the cream cheese filling. Now I add a tablespoon of milk and I let the cream cheese soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
My family and friends LOVED this cheesecake, BUT it has problems. In our heat here in Australia...it melted!! I have experimented and solved the probs. 1. Make it in a springform tin. 2. Make the crust and cheescake base the night before. 3. There is nothing to "set" the cheesecake so add two teaspoons of gelatin (predisolved well in 1/2 cp of hot water) to the mix. 4. Add the final toppings 4 hrs before serving and refrigerate well. 5. Drain the pineapple in a seive first. 6. Use banana slices not quaters 7. USE WHIPPED CREAM TOPPING...YES...GET FRESH CREAM AND WHIP IT WITH TEASPOON OF VANILLA ESSENCE. Don't use premixed toppings. 8. We also found it a bit too sweet and halved the amount of sugar. This makes it just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
This is really, really good! Kids like it, adults love it! Very versitile. To those having trouble, again...make sure your ingredients are room temp and blend thoroughly. You might try popping the crust into the freezer while you do this so the cold can help set the filling, and to avoid sogging the crust. Chill until set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
It was ok, but needed some strawberries. I would add no sugar and mix some instant pudding in the cheese mixture, or add some can strawberry pie filling in it. I have 2 other recipes that use these and they are fantastic. Family was disappointed in this one. The cheese was thin and not very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This dessert was a hit for the entire family. I did change a few things though. I used a graham cracker pie shell, and just cut the ingredients in half. Also, I used reduced fat cream cheese and fat free Cool Whip. It's delicious as is, but I think next time, I'll add sliced strawberries to the pineapple/banana layer. Thanks for a quick, easy, and tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I have to admit that i don't like the banana and pineapple mixture in this cheesecake but you can replace these with so many others fruits. I personally made a fruits of the forest cheesecake the everyone LOVED!!!! The best part of this is that it is so simple to make, all you need is a food processor and that's it! Did i mention it's delicious???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *RicaRocks*

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Another hit with my family of 5!! Halved the recipe, cuz only had 1 block of cream cheese. Did like previous reviewer suggested-added 1 tsp vanilla to filling and drizzled freezer strawberry jam over filling before bananas, then topped with fruit and set out chocolate syrup, caramel ice cream topping and chopped peanuts for everyone to finish their piece according to their tastes. YUMMY--brought summer to frozen Midwest!! Can't wait for summer and a whole 13x9 of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schafer5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
this cheesecake was kind of gooey, which made it not really like a cheesecake at all. that was very disappointing. It was very easy to make, especially since I used a store bought crust, which is why it gets the "4th star" on my rating. the taste was not really that bad, but i was hoping for a more "cheesecake-like" dessert, which this wasn't, but would make a great dessert for the 4th of july, or other summer holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States