Banana Split Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Not bad... Not as sweet as a lot of people claimed it was, which is surprising, but still not bad at all. I'll probably make it again and use some different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
a great dessert. i added a layer of strawberries with the banana and pineapple, and used fresh whipped cream. made it the day before i served it. EVERYONE loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I've made this recipe or a close cousin to this recipe for about 20 years. I usually try to wait for holidays/special occassions. Everyone loves it!! I tweak the crust a little too. Sometimes, I half the recipe use a pre-made graham cracker crust and hand them out to neighbors for Christmas. Yummy -- I feel a special occassion coming on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This pie was wonderful...exactly like a real banana split! I added a layer of Marshmellow Fluff to the mix and it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
YUM YUM YUM Made for my family and everyone loved it! Added strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Everyone will love this, but I also agree you need to whip the cream cheese mixture for at least 10 minutes, it sounds crazy but it really makes a huge difference. And drain everything very well before adding it. I used to make this a lot and couldn't find the recipe so looked it up....can't wait to make it for the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Awesome recipe. I did not use a graham cracker crust...but instead used Delta Airline cookies, which are very similar to ginger snaps. It was awesome. When you are adding the final touches (the whipped cream, fruit and syrups) work quickly or freeze in stages. The toppings begin to run a little if not cold enough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
First off, the crust is missing an important ingredient and step. It needs about 1/3 cup of sugar mixed into the crushed graham cracker crumbs and it should be baked at 350 for about 10 minutes. This will set it up so it doesn't fall apart when cut. Let the crust cool completely before putting in the cream cheese mixture. Also, to fill up the pan, I used 3 8 oz. cubes of cream cheese, but the same amount of sugar called for. And I used more cherries on the top and left off the pecans. I didn't feel it needed the nuts. And I sliced the bananas and completely covered the cream cheese with the slices and used a larger can of pineapple. Very sweet but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
The biggest merit to this recipe is simplicity and popularity with a wide variety of people! It's a great party dessert and I have made it several times to take to "pot luck" type events.... It goes quickly and everyone love it! I do make minor changes to the basic recipe as it is very flexible and forgiving. I do agree with the person who said that it is probably best to describe it as a "dessert" rather than a "cheesecake"... but calling it a "no-bake cheesecake" is probably a good compromise... It does have that nice "cheesy" taste from the cream cheese, but doesn't have the texture you get in a standard baked cheesecake. Nevertheless, it is really tasty and because it's so sweet - most people really seem to like it. I recommend it if you are looking for something a little different to take to a pot luck. PS You do need to plan on chilling it for at least the recommended four hours, and I would recommend eight... hold off on the chocolate syrup and cherries until just before you serve or "tote" it out the door! The syrup will run and look unattractive. An alternative is to swirl the choc syrup lighly into the top of the whipped topping so that it doesn't run so much. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmwflora

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This recipe was very good. My boyfriend LOVED it but my brother in law HATED IT! You have to like fruit in your dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States