Banana Split Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Renee Heston
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This recipe has great potential... and I'm glad I listened to my baking/cooking instincts. The cream cheese layer as posted is way too sticky and overpowering sweet. I fell back on my staple cream cheese/powdered sugar recipe and doubled it for this cake. I'm glad I did! I used the remaining of the stick of butter (6 T) to make the crust and baked it like suggested. I also added chocolate chips and walnuts to the top. I got rave reviews and a request for the recipe. Thanks for sharing an eggless version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Heston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I have used this same recipe with one alteration. It is easier and less fattening. Rather than making a graham crust, just place a lyer of graham crackers in the bottom of the pan and make a day ahead and refridgerate. This dessert is also a great make ahead and freeze for unexpected social events. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Yum! Chopped fresh pineapple and sprinkled chocolate chips on top as part of deco and it was delish! VERY popular with bro-in-law and teenage nephews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Good for a kids party but I wouldn't recommend it as an adult dessert. A little messy and not at all attractive when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Nothing but rave reviews! I put the crust in the freezer instead of baking it or putting it in the fridge. I added a bit of caramel on top as well. A+++ all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I used to make this exact cake years ago. I do have a tip though... after you prep the crust... bake it for 10 minutes. Don't overcook it however as it will turn hard as cement, but the baked crust makes the dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
WONDERFUL RECIPIE BUT I USE THE FROZEN SLICED STRAWBERRIES FOR EASE (AND SOMETIMES THE FRESH ARE NOT SWEET) I ALSO SOMETIMES PUT KIWI IN IT TO GIVE IT A NICE ZING :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Okay this recipe is awesome. Of course I did a little tweaking to it to fit my taste. I left out the strawberries and strawberry glaze. Then I added chopped pecans on top. I made this for Christmas and it was gone in no time. I have already made another batch for our house. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I didn't use the strawberry glaze and I made my own whipped cream. I also added some chocolate sauce that I made. It came out good. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This was a great dessert! I left out the strawberry glaze, mainly because I didn't have any and saw someone else did it as well and came out good. I drizzled chocolate syrup on top too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda Hendrickson Butts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States