Banana Split Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Very good recipe. Some changes I made.. Made the cake batter in a 9x13 pan. After it cooled I took it out of the pan and sliced it horizontally. Put bottom piece back in the pan. Added ingredients plus I added thin sliced strawberries- put saran wrap over ingredients to push down, put second layer of cake on top. Than I topped it with whip cream made from fresh heavy cream (instead of cool whip.) I did not top it with nuts and cherries- I thought that would be way too much. I did save a piece of the inside of the cake that I crumbled up and scattered on top of the whip cream. My family loved it- adults and kids alike. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
This is a really good recipe. I only added a couple/changed things. I added Strawberry, Pineapple Ice Cream Topping over the Banana layer. I also added Cream Marshmellow in the jar, NOT the Kraft. This is over in the Ice Cream Topping section in the stores. It is made thinner than the other. I also froze my Banana Split Cake. It does not freeze solid and it is SOOO good this way. I received SO many compliments on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENELYSE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
This was a huge hit! I made the following changes: used 1 pkg. vanilla and 1 pkg. cheesecake pudding per other suggestions, I used strawberry cool whip for topping, then topped with sliced strawberries and drizzled with chocolate sundae syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I took this wonderful cake to a Good Friday crawfish boil. I made the following changes (thank you to all previous reviewers!) I made six cupcakes to use some of the batter - and my 13 X 9 pan was still full (after all the layers) I used one pckg of french vanilla and one cheesecake pudding instead of the two vanilla puddings. On top of the cool whip layer I used sweet Louisiana strawberries instead of cherries. On top of this I drizzled caramel topping and chocolate topping (the kind you put on ice cream). I made it the day before I served it. This cake was a huge hit at the party. I highly recommend this cake! (several people requested the recipe!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Try using a cheese cake pan and a cake pan of same diameter. Use 1 and freeze one for future use. You must readjust the cream cheese mixture and pudding mix but not the milk. I also added a layer of strawberry slices. If you press down with a sheet of plastic wrap after you finish layering the cake it will absorb the favor and cut more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I MADE THIS FOR THANKSGIVING AND EVERYONE LOVED IT. IT IS VERY EASY, I TOOK EVERYONES ADVICE AND DIDN'T USE ALL THE CAKE MIX AND IT TURNED OUT JUST PERFECT. NEXT TIME IM GOING TO USE STRAWBERRIES INSTEAD OF CHERRIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
My cousin made this as one of her desserts for Thanksgiving. It was AWESOME!! I will definitely make this. I will probably use something else instead of cherries, only because I don't like cherries, however, this recipe is a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was a great recipe. If you use a 9 x 13, I suggest you substitute Jiffy yellow cake mix box to get a smaller amount or use a 10 x 15 inch pan. I used a trifle bowl and it was awesome. Made a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
This is fantastic! I followed everyone's advice and used a bigger pan (a must!). I had forgot to put the chocolate syrup and caramel syrup on until after I had put on the whipped topping, so I just drizzeled it on top of the whipped topping and it looked great! Everyone loved this!!! Will definately do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Best cake I've made in years! I used French Vanilla and cheesecake flavors instant pudding, poured chocolate syrup over bananas and pineapple, topped with French Vanilla Cool Whip and quarted strawberries and mini-oreo cookies. This is an A+ keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States