Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I made this for church and doubled the recipe so there was one for each table. It was a huge hit, everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. This is a definate keeper. Next time I will decrease the sugar in the crust, I used both plain graham crackers with cinnamon graham crackers since I didn't have enough plain. The hit of cinnamon added to the flavors. The only changes I made were to omit the walnuts- I have a nut allergy. I used homemade whipped cream- so much better than store bought. I also drizzled fudge over it since I had a huge can in the fridge. Best desert I have made lately. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aspaisley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Made this for my cowrkers...they loved it and I am constantly asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
As other reviewer's did, I made half the recipe and used a store bought pie shell...I chose a chocolate oreo crust. Instead of walnuts on top, I spread "wet walnuts" over the cream cheese layer. It was delicious...the cream cheese layer makes it very rich! For those who wanted it extra sweet, we drizzled with chocolate syrup. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
whoa.....excellent! i made mine in a pie dish, so it was banana split pie....also, i didnt have pineapple, but used fresh strawberries instead....outstanding. next time i will use the pineapple. im sure it is perfect either way. wait, how bout both? thanks pam, we all loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I really liked the idea of banana split bars, but we thought that these bars weren't sweet enough to be dessert. I would make this again but add more sugar to the cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Huge hit! I brought it to a friends cookout. The only thing I did differently was to bake the crust for only 10 minutes. It reminded me of a Ambrosia Salad with a graham cracker crust. Three people asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I followed the advice of others and made this in 2 store bought graham crackers crusts. I put strawberries on the top instead of cherries, and I drizzled chocolate topping over it. Simple easy and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME! I made it and took it to work for "Banana Man Friday", which is an internally celebrated day (as is any day we can think up an excuse for ;^). This was the hit of the party! Of some 20 dishes brought, this was the first one gone (long before lunch!) and the only one that was totally wiped out. I now make it with a layer of fresh strawberries topped off with a little strawberry syrup in between the berries. It's a hit either way. You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
My only complaint about these is that the cream cheese layer was way to soft. Being a lil firmer would have made it a 5 start recipe. It was still very good. Had to eat it as if it was a pie-with a fork because it was to soft and messy to handle. Should have been called a pie instead of bar i would think. I decided not to spread the whip cream over the entire pie and instead, layered the banana and pineapple over cream cheese, refridgerated over night, sliced into individual bars, and then added whip cream(from can)diced cherries and walnuts on the individual bars. Much made for a cuter presentation :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
These were perfect I have made them twice now and everyone lovs them. Thanks for the great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Tripp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States