Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a great dessert! I made it exactly according to the recipe and it turned out wonderful. You could really use just about any fruit--cherries or any kind of berry would be awesome. I used the tip someone posted to dip the banana slices in the drained pineapple juice to keep them from turning brown, and it worked great. I would normally use lemon juice, but that flavor might be too noticeable in the dessert. Reusing the juice was a great idea. This will definitely become one of my go-to desserts for potlucks and family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lamont, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Came out alright. The crust didn't hold together... More butter needs to be used. I added more bananas than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This review is definitely for people who appreciate changes. I was looking for a recipe that could be made with fat-free cream cheese and cover the flavor of it (made the mistake of buying it). I added chopped walnuts to the crust. For the cream cheese layer, I used powdered sugar, a little whipping cream, and almond extract (stronger than vanilla). I left the banana and pineapple layers alone. I made my own whipped cream with powdered sugar and almond extract. I didn't top the dessert with anything as I had no walnuts left and no cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made a pie for this since it is only hubby and I. The flavors were pretty good but I don't think I creamed the cheese enough as it was hard and messy to spread. I did think it was missing just a little something but not sure what that was. I'll go back and read other reviews to see if there are other changes I might want to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made this years ago and my daughter tells me it is her favorite ever! She asked again this year. It is fruity, creamy, colorful & easy to make, enjoyed by most everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I have made this 3 times already its a hit. I also add 1/4 cup cocoa to make a chocolate pie with chocolate syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
extremely easy recipe and very tasty! made it for a holiday party and everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
TIP: Save the juice from the pineapple to dip the sliced banana in and it will help keep the bananas from turning so fast. I do this with most all my fruit that will turn like peaches, apples, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renea Gary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!! Made it just the way the directions said...no changes necessary!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Excellent and addicting! I cut the recipe in half and used a graham cracker crust. I also drizzled caramel and chocolate syrup over the bananas and pineapple before adding the whipped topping. This dessert tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States