Banana Split Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
EAT RIGHT NOW
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Rich, but sensational! I made this into a pie and reserved some of the pre-baked crust crumbles to sprinkle on top in place of the nuts. I mixed a couple of spoons of brown sugar into the pineapples to keep from being too twangy. And the pineapple juice does work for the bananas. Such a delicious dessert, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I did cut the sugar a bit- seemed like so much! I dipped the banana in reserved pineapple juice to prevent browning and added sliced strawberries. This was good enough to make again- a nice summer dessert. Just didn't WOW me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was a huge success! Everyone loved it! I used two pre-made graham crusts. Everything else was to a "t". :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Rating this 4 based on taste. It was delicious. My only drawback was the the crust didn't hold together and crumbled and the banana's turned brown very quickly. That being said, I served it with a spoon instead of a spatula and the bananas still tasted great despite their color. I will make again for a party where it will get eaten at once. I may even put in a trifle bowl too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is delicious!! Made it for a family gathering & the pan was empty within a minute of setting it on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This was a real hit at a recent get together. I made 2 small changes and anticipate 1 other based on feedback from family and friends. I make whipped cream rather than use frozen store bought. I find real whipped cream holds form much better and the vanilla flavor really comes through. I also added shaved dark chocolate to the topping after the nuts and before the cherries. The only other modification is the addition of a strawberry layer which I intend to try the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
We made these as two pies (using pre-made graham cracker crusts), substituted salted peanuts for the walnuts, and added whipped topping to the cream cheese mixture since I only had 8 oz. of cream cheese on hand. I thought it did need the whole 16 oz. of cream cheese, but even so, these pies were amazing! We couldn't stop eating them. I also dipped the banana slices in the pineapple juice and that totally kept them from browning. What a great trick! Thanks, Pam, for such a refreshing and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I think this recipe would be fine as written, however I made 1/2 recipe for Italian Cheescake (on this site)...baked that and then kinda sorta followed the rest of this. I did drizzle chocoloate syrup over all. Great idea you can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is a great dessert! I made it exactly according to the recipe and it turned out wonderful. You could really use just about any fruit--cherries or any kind of berry would be awesome. I used the tip someone posted to dip the banana slices in the drained pineapple juice to keep them from turning brown, and it worked great. I would normally use lemon juice, but that flavor might be too noticeable in the dessert. Reusing the juice was a great idea. This will definitely become one of my go-to desserts for potlucks and family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lamont, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Grilled Banana Split

Who knew you could make a banana split even more delicious!

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States