Banana Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I thought these were really good!! The bananas add so much sweetness so I cut the sugar amount in half and then used half white sugar and half brown (1/4 cup of each). I substituted all spice for cloves and also threw in some white chocolate chips! I will be making these again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I don't think I would make this recipe again. The cookies were "OK", but I didn't feel like they tasted good enough to be worth the time it took to make them. I am always looking for recipes to use my over-ripe bananas, but I have found banana bread recipes that I like much better. I made a double batch and increased the cloves and cinnamon by 1/2. It still wasn't enough, and I could hardly taste the spices. The cloves were brand new, and the cinnamon just purchased a few months ago, so it wasn't from old ingredients. I think if I were to make them again, I would TRIPPLE the amount of spice called for. I went ahead and made the butter cream frosting from All Recipes.com like they suggested, which greatly improved the cookie. These cookies are really pretty bland and need to be frosted -- in my opinion they can't stand alone. --SHELLGRAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pine Grove Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have been making these for years. They never cease to be my favorite cookie! Pair with banana frosting made with real bananas and it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
made a bread pan insted family enjoyed this as a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Someone know how long those last without spoiling? If not refrigerated? Want to send them to my son on the army overseas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gila Idelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic Recipe...this was exactly what I was looking for. Yes, they are like muffin tops so if you are wanting a "cookie", then this may not be for you. I also dusted the tops with cinnamon/sugar prior to baking as another reader suggested and they are simply delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minacraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I used regular vegetable shortening. I also added raisins...they turned out yummy. Cook time was mir like 8 min for my oven....the yield was 42
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe because I was craving a cookie with a twist...it turned ok more like banana scones not cookies to be precise. I glazed the top after the cooled down with confectioners sugar mixed with orange juice for a sweet glaze and it was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divanje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I doubled the cinnamon and cloves and added 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips to the recipe plus I didn't frost them, they were fine the way they were which was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
AMAZING cookies! I did frost them with the butter frosting and that made them even more delicious. The only edits I made were to use 4 bananas instead of 3, I skipped the nuts due to personal preference and I skipped the cloves. They are like a muffin/cake in a cookie but not too heavy ... hard to explain but simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahdear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States