Banana Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I don't think I would make this recipe again. The cookies were "OK", but I didn't feel like they tasted good enough to be worth the time it took to make them. I am always looking for recipes to use my over-ripe bananas, but I have found banana bread recipes that I like much better. I made a double batch and increased the cloves and cinnamon by 1/2. It still wasn't enough, and I could hardly taste the spices. The cloves were brand new, and the cinnamon just purchased a few months ago, so it wasn't from old ingredients. I think if I were to make them again, I would TRIPPLE the amount of spice called for. I went ahead and made the butter cream frosting from All Recipes.com like they suggested, which greatly improved the cookie. These cookies are really pretty bland and need to be frosted -- in my opinion they can't stand alone. --SHELLGRAM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I have been making these for years. They never cease to be my favorite cookie! Pair with banana frosting made with real bananas and it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
made a bread pan insted family enjoyed this as a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Someone know how long those last without spoiling? If not refrigerated? Want to send them to my son on the army overseas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Fantastic Recipe...this was exactly what I was looking for. Yes, they are like muffin tops so if you are wanting a "cookie", then this may not be for you. I also dusted the tops with cinnamon/sugar prior to baking as another reader suggested and they are simply delicious. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minacraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I used regular vegetable shortening. I also added raisins...they turned out yummy. Cook time was mir like 8 min for my oven....the yield was 42
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe because I was craving a cookie with a twist...it turned ok more like banana scones not cookies to be precise. I glazed the top after the cooled down with confectioners sugar mixed with orange juice for a sweet glaze and it was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divanje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I doubled the cinnamon and cloves and added 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips to the recipe plus I didn't frost them, they were fine the way they were which was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
AMAZING cookies! I did frost them with the butter frosting and that made them even more delicious. The only edits I made were to use 4 bananas instead of 3, I skipped the nuts due to personal preference and I skipped the cloves. They are like a muffin/cake in a cookie but not too heavy ... hard to explain but simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborahdear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We LOVE these cookies! I follow the recipe as indicated and they are great. It is a great alternative to banana bread and a great way to use those brown bananas. Also, they freeze well to save some for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KALAHAIBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States