Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe, I made this exactly as written, and the second time i made it i made i wanted a more healthy banana bread so i made these adjustments, I used only whole wheat flour, I added 3 TBS of ground flax seeds, 1 teaspoon of nutmeg, extra 1/4 teaspoon of salt because of the whole wheat flour, an extra banana ( be sure to use really brown banana's ) and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. Awesome Awesome! My husband who can't stand it when I use whole wheat flour didn't even notice the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I've been making this bread for 7 years, people ask me for special occasions to make it... I've tried other recipes banana bread recipes... This one is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great recipe have tried it with applesauce instead of bananas turned out fantastic. I am trying it with peaches now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This banana bread is simply the best. It is so moist and flavorful it reminded me of my grandma's. As I am diabetic I substituted half of the sugar with Splenda® and half with dark brown sugar. I think I will cut the total sugar amount down to 2 cups as it was plenty sweet. I did increase the baking temperature to 325 as suggested by other reviewers, and it came out perfect though it did take a bit longer than stated. I think this is a reflection of my oven's accuracy though as the bread did not get overly browned. I will definitely make this again. As this recipe makes a lot, it will be great for making multiple smaller loaves for gift giving, like at Christmas time. My family is nutty but don't care to eat them, so I added raisins to part of the batter and made muffins out of it. They grabbed them as they ran out the door. A huge hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Unbelievable! I made it with the recipe and Saralady19's tweaks. Brought one loaf to a friend as a thank you and another to work and now I have multiple people asking me when I am going to make banana bread again. The one change I made to Saralady 19's tweak was that I baked the bread for 10-15 minutes, then added the topping so the topping would stay set on top. I froze the batter for the other two loaves and baked them later. They come out great - as if I just mixed them up. Simply put the frozen batter in the refrigerator the night before and allow it to thaw naturally, then bake the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is the best banana bread recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Right on! This is a wonderful recipe. I added a few dashes of cinnamon and one more banana. I made these into muffins and baked a dozen muffins at 350 for 14 minutes. Double the ingredients and you'll have 4 dozen to share. Just lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtobin79
Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
So moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Mann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I got very frustrated making this bread, and I thought I'd never make it again. However, once it came out of the oven, the bread is so good--moist and just sweet enough. I'll have to make it again! However, my very large mixing bowl almost overflowed--I wondered if my bananas were too large. I had so much batter! I used four 6X2 loaf pans and then figured I would put the extra batter in 6 muffins. I ended up filling 18 muffins and not having room in my oven for all of them. I started cooking them at 300 degrees, but I began to question the temp and so checked the reviews and decided to turn it up to 325. The loaves took 1 hr, while the muffins took 30 min at 325. Next time, I will make 2 large loafs instead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Kris Wilkie
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Easy and delicious!!! It came out moist and perfect. I did bake it on 325 for the first half hour then turned it down to 300 for the last half hour. I did a two loaf batch. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Wilkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 3,420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States