Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by heroinecarolyn
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Definitely my new go-to banana nut bread recipe! The sour cream made it 10x more moist than a recipe without it. I cut the recipe in half, and baked 2 loaves at 300 for an hour and 15 min. Turned out great and my family loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Excellent. I halved the recipe and baked at 325 for 1 hour. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
5 Star Taste but a bit sticky in texture... stuck in the pan even after greasing it and fell apart when cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I was a bit sceptical of this recipe as I have made banana bread before and they have always turned out terrible. But I had sour cream and bananas to use up so I thought i'd give it one last try. I'm so glad I did. This turned out wonderfully well. I followed the recipe exactly except I only used 5 bananas (I only had 5 on hand) and 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon ( I don't like strong cinnamon tastes). I did do a double take when i saw the temperature setting, 300 seemed a bit low but I set it at that anyway, and yep they rose well. I had to leave them in there about 10 mimutes longer than stated though. They looked fantastic when I took them out of the oven and smelt great. I was getting ready for the dissapointing taste but no, it tasted great too. I still can't believe I have found a banana bread recipe I like and turned out so well. Thank you Esther for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Swansea, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Everyone that tried it loved it. Very moist. Made 3 loaves. Will bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Hard to rate when I changed the recipe so much but it came out great. I halved the recipe and wanted to make it a little more healthy. Two eggs, 3/4 cup of sugar and a dollop of molasses, 1 cup of white flour and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour, 1/4 stick of butter only and 1/4 cup of applesauce. Added a handful each of ground flax and whole flax and chia seeds. Bumped the spices way up and added cloves, nutmeg and allspice. All other ingredients were just halved. Used reduced fat sour cream. Used almonds as it was the only nuts I had. At 1 hour and 20 minutes, I turned off the oven and let it rest in there for another 10-15 minutes. This banana bread came out so moist and slightly dense, it was more like a cake. Even better after a day in the fridge. I was afraid of how long it was taking to cook at that low heat but it came out perfect. I froze one and can't stop nibbling at the other one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miki Crespo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Very moist and delicious! We added some chocolate chips to it. It did take 1hr 15mins to bake through and only made three loaves at the 4 loaf directions. But we were very pleased with it and will definitely be using this recipe again and again and again. Oh, I was out of baking soda so instead did 4 tsp baking powder and omitted the salt. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Perfectly moist, and great flavor. I made it like a cake in a 9x12 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3spices

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
love this but had to cook it at 375 as it did not turn out at 300..but so yummy and moist..is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josies_daughter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeaceLoveSnowflakes
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I get great feedback whenever I make this, but I make a few changes. 1). I do not sprinkle the cinnamon and sugar into the baking pan(s) because I find the taste to be overpowering. The cinnamon in the bread is a nice subtle flavour which always surprises people who try it and think it's great. Covering the bread in it is simply overpowering. 2). I halve the recipe and that will make a single loaf in a standard size loaf pan. When halving I recommend using 2 medium bananas and 1 egg (forget about the half). Bake at 350 for around 45 minutes and it comes out perfect. 3). I like to sprinkle some quick oats and brown sugar on the top before baking. Gives it a nice rustic look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States