Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
The reviews on this had me nervous. So many mentioned it not baking evenly, having a mushy middle, bad consistency, etc. I followed the recipe closely, changing only the amount of sugar (2 cups instead of 3). I used two large loaf pans - 11+ by 5+ because that's all I had on hand (EZfoil). One hour and 10 minutes later, perfect banana bread - perfect consistency, fabulous taste. All in all, very easy to make and totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This recipe is amazing! It's a total hit and I make it all the time. I add a bag of Nestle Mini semi sweet Morsels and people rave about it. I also use large loaf pans so mine makes 3 good size loaves.. I sometimes will freeze a loaf for serving later. They freeze great! One of the best banana bread recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Great recipe. I didn't have sour cream on hand so swapped in Hellman's mayo. In one , I added 1 cup of dried cranberriies. This is the moistest banana bread and PACKED with flavour. Definitely a new family favourite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I am so picky about banana bread after tasting the perfect one 20 yrs ago and never getting the recipe; I knew it had sour cream though. I only had 4 bananas & no sour cream so used 18 oz of my plain, homemade tart yogurt hoping the extra yogurt would make up for the missing bananas and followed the reviewer with 2 larger pans at 325 for a little over an hour and foil covered the last 20. This is the recipe I've been searching for - so moist, so yummy! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RPeters
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Perfectly Moist, delicate and delicious!! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Best banana bread ever, and I don't even typically like banana bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wet. Cooked it at 325 degrees for close to 80 mins. and I still ended up with a gloppy mess. A sample from the cooked edge of the loaf revealed a rich flavor, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This is a REALLY good Banana Bread recipe! Note, I didn't have enough sour cream so I sub'd 8oz of fat free plain greek yogurt and it turned out GREAT! At altitude (5120') I think I would up the baking temp to 325F next time to avoid the danger of a doughy center in bigger loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Excellent flavor and texture. Make sure you don't over bake this recipe. I made a third of a recipe (2 bananas, 1 egg, worked out) and baked it in a regular loaf pan and it fit fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
OMGosh! Best banana bread I've ever made. It put my other recipes to shame. It's in my favorites recipe box. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States