Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Great recipe have tried it with applesauce instead of bananas turned out fantastic. I am trying it with peaches now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This banana bread is simply the best. It is so moist and flavorful it reminded me of my grandma's. As I am diabetic I substituted half of the sugar with Splenda® and half with dark brown sugar. I think I will cut the total sugar amount down to 2 cups as it was plenty sweet. I did increase the baking temperature to 325 as suggested by other reviewers, and it came out perfect though it did take a bit longer than stated. I think this is a reflection of my oven's accuracy though as the bread did not get overly browned. I will definitely make this again. As this recipe makes a lot, it will be great for making multiple smaller loaves for gift giving, like at Christmas time. My family is nutty but don't care to eat them, so I added raisins to part of the batter and made muffins out of it. They grabbed them as they ran out the door. A huge hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Unbelievable! I made it with the recipe and Saralady19's tweaks. Brought one loaf to a friend as a thank you and another to work and now I have multiple people asking me when I am going to make banana bread again. The one change I made to Saralady 19's tweak was that I baked the bread for 10-15 minutes, then added the topping so the topping would stay set on top. I froze the batter for the other two loaves and baked them later. They come out great - as if I just mixed them up. Simply put the frozen batter in the refrigerator the night before and allow it to thaw naturally, then bake the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This is the best banana bread recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Right on! This is a wonderful recipe. I added a few dashes of cinnamon and one more banana. I made these into muffins and baked a dozen muffins at 350 for 14 minutes. Double the ingredients and you'll have 4 dozen to share. Just lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jtobin79
Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
So moist!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eener_23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I got very frustrated making this bread, and I thought I'd never make it again. However, once it came out of the oven, the bread is so good--moist and just sweet enough. I'll have to make it again! However, my very large mixing bowl almost overflowed--I wondered if my bananas were too large. I had so much batter! I used four 6X2 loaf pans and then figured I would put the extra batter in 6 muffins. I ended up filling 18 muffins and not having room in my oven for all of them. I started cooking them at 300 degrees, but I began to question the temp and so checked the reviews and decided to turn it up to 325. The loaves took 1 hr, while the muffins took 30 min at 325. Next time, I will make 2 large loafs instead. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Kris Wilkie
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Easy and delicious!!! It came out moist and perfect. I did bake it on 325 for the first half hour then turned it down to 300 for the last half hour. I did a two loaf batch. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Wilkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I have tried dozens of banana bread recipes over the past 25 years and this is my favorite. What makes it special is the moistness (from the sour cream) and the sugar/cinnamon coating, which I would never have thought to use with banana bread. My kids were fighting over who go the butt of the bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time about a year ago…I lost my copy of this recipe and recently found it again. My family LOVES this banana bread recipe more than any other one I've used. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States