Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
love this but had to cook it at 375 as it did not turn out at 300..but so yummy and moist..is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josies_daughter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PeaceLoveSnowflakes
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I get great feedback whenever I make this, but I make a few changes. 1). I do not sprinkle the cinnamon and sugar into the baking pan(s) because I find the taste to be overpowering. The cinnamon in the bread is a nice subtle flavour which always surprises people who try it and think it's great. Covering the bread in it is simply overpowering. 2). I halve the recipe and that will make a single loaf in a standard size loaf pan. When halving I recommend using 2 medium bananas and 1 egg (forget about the half). Bake at 350 for around 45 minutes and it comes out perfect. 3). I like to sprinkle some quick oats and brown sugar on the top before baking. Gives it a nice rustic look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Super moist! I'm glad I made two loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaFaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was very good. I too have 9x5 so I upped the heat to 350, set the time at 60. Perfect timing. Great taste and I didn't not do an pan prep (non-stick breadpan). Nor did I top the bread. Will definitely repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I hardly ever write reviews, usually because I just exit out and forget about doing it...BUT, this one was worth it! I made one batch and turned it into so many different flavors. Chocolate Chip Banana Bread, Chocolate Chip Walnut Banana Bread, Banana Walnut Bread, and just plain old FABULOUS Banana Bread! It makes so much and its fluffy and tasty, and everything you could ever imagine banana bread needs to be. I left the Cinnamon out of the actual recipe, but still used it for the lining and I think it was still great! I'm just not a huge cinnamon person. This is one recipe I'll pass on to friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I did this just like the recipe and it was perfect. Didn't need any adjustments. Perfect and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Cut it in 1/2 and sub'd applesauce and 1/2 Greek yogurt. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZINOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I did not taste it because I am on a diet but everyone at work assured me it was the best banana bread ever! I believe them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight and loved it! Made mini muffins with the batter and added a little nutmeg to give it something special. Even my fiancé who isn't a big sweets fan ate several and said they were awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Cummings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is the only banana bread recipe that is moist and fresh-tasting the next day, although it rarely makes it to the next day. The sour cream keeps the bread moist, and adds exceptional flavor. I have a small family of 3, so I made only a third of the original recipe. This made one loaf, and 4 nice sized banana muffins. To top off this recipe, I added a 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, which was a splendid idea, if I don't say so myself ;) I used real butter to grease my pans, and sprinkled on the sugar mixture which makes the sweetest most delectable crust ever!!! I will use this from now on in all of my breads and pastries. I must go have a slice now... Thank you for this javascript:void(0);wonderfully tasty and moist recipe!! One more thing... I have substituted the sour cream with greek yogurt when I ran out of sour cream, and the results are great, as well! Great way to add protein to my meat-hating children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYBOPPS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States