Banana Shake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Creamy and thick. My kids loved the "yogurt drink" as they called it. It is quite filling so I halved the recipe and then divided it up between the 3 kids. They were all slurping the bottom of the cup with their straws and asking if they can have one tomorrow too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is the exact recipe i was looking for. I didn't use lemon juice. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I also used one whole banana and halved the rest of the ingredients for one serving that was a little thicker than orginal recipe. update- I threw in three strawberries and used a small banana. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I really liked this. I didn't have any plain yogurt so I used strawberry and it was really good! My 3 yr old and 10 mo. old loved it as well. Nutritional AND tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VLB1218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
I think it's important that you realize it's going to have a strong yogurt taste as that is a key ingredient to this shake. It's more smoothie-like to me, but I still think it's good. I've played around with this recipe and found that the best variation for our tastes is: 2 bananas (we love 'em in this family), 1 cup milk, 1 cup yogurt, and 4 TBSP sugar. It is perfectly sweet and tart- like a banana smoothie/shake should be. I omitted the lemon juice simply because I was out, haha. Anyways, I think it's a great recipe that can be varied using whatever fruit you happen to love and still be completely tasty and good for you! 5 stars from me and my family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is an excellent drink as is, though I like to blend in a few ice cubes to make it frothier. I've made it many times, sometimes making substitutions (e.g. sour cream instead of yogurt, honey instead of sugar, OJ instead of lemon juice) just to use what I had on hand, and it tastes just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
very tastey my family and i enjoyed evry last drop and left them asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
this was exellent.made it for my son for an after school treat and he enjoyed it.will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancing_earth77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Awesome with a shot or two of Rum added. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I needed a recipe for what I had on hand- bananas, yogurt, soymilk. I used one banana, 1/4 cup plain soymilk, 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt, and 1 Tbsp sugar. This made one thick serving, which was all I wanted. The person who originally made this recipe must like sweet/sour; I prefer sweeter, and ommitted the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mshcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dripping Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This was good, although it should be called a smoothie instead of a shake. I exchanged vanilla extract for the lemon juice, and added cinnamon, nutmeg, and 1tbsp peanut butter. I also added a few ice cubes. With these changes it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Honey Shake

Find out how to make a refreshing blended juice drink.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States